Welcome to Gaia! ::

I checked the stickies, couldn't find anything on this. ActiveX is driving me nuts currently. Never had this problem until...about...2-3 weeks ago? I'm not a self proclaimed computer expert, but I do know my way around my computer, and the 'net enough to know something is wrong. What, I don't know. So I'll just delve right into the problem and see what you all think.

Problem: Certain pages do not allow me to view them. Instead the wonderful and oh so unpopular "triangle of doom" pops up, stating that I need to download ActiveX in order to view this site. Now the sites that it won't let me view due to this problem have BASIC coding on them. Very minimal, nothing too flashy. And its random on whether it pops up on the same site more than once per cache cleaning, or deletion of all offline content and temp internet files.

Being the ever curious person I am, I tried to download this ActiveX installion. However it I get the hourglass busy signal and sit around, twiddling my thumbs, waiting for it to do -something-. Which it doesn't. Or, doesn't appear to anyway. An hour before I tried to download the ActiveX installation for the billionth time, I had cleaned my computer by Ad-Aware, and a few other anti spy-crap programs. My computer had been running for up to 5 days with no problem what so ever. I click the download....wait and wait and wait...and check Ad-Aware, and boom, I have 134 critical files. All spy crap, that wasn't on my computer before.

If there's any hardware information you might need to help detect this particular...problem (though I doubt hardware is an issue here,) I'll answer with that info soon as I can get back to the computer. I have to shut down and fix a fan that is dust clogged, but as soon as I'm done I'll be back. I figured I'd post this up and see what kinda answers I get, or at least some ideas to try to rid myself of whatever the hell has decided to attach to my system. *grumbles*