Welcome to Gaia! ::

Intellectual Powerhouse

*always liked reading, wha* xD

Confident Duck

Qixel
I had a slightly similar situation. I didn't get held back or anything, because in my school system whether you passed or not seemed to be based on attendance and behavior. I wasn't ever really bad at reading, just mediocre. But one day, I saw my brother playing Chrono Trigger on the Super Nintendo. He didn't want to read everything to me, so I just watched. After a week or so, he got bored of it, so I started playing. In an rpg such as that, reading was essential. So I taught myself to read and understand the instructions based on prior stuff, and that carried onto Lufia and Super Mario RPG. So, while not comic books, I learned off a similar medium in that they'd be obscure learning devices.

It was hilarious when I, the most mediocre reader in first grade, showed up for second grade after that summer, and had the biggest vocabulary in the class. It also lead to some awkward moments, such as my teachers demanding to know how I knew words such as 'devastation' and, my personal favorites, 'carcass' and 'carrion'.

This sir *brofists* Is indeed amazing. Very similar, very much so indeed. My first RPG, I remember it well... Shining Force for the Sega Gen---- actually I take that back, my very first, RPG that I played was the original Zelda... but I didn't exactly like it very much... Shining Force... pfft as an adult I re-purchased it for the Wii and I would spend my off day (yes singular) bringing home hotwings, planting myself in front of my console with my pet rat Quin and having gaming night with her. She would sit in my lap and eat a hotwing while I played my game. *nods happily*

Darling Hunter

Blazing Battler