Welcome to Gaia! ::

~ Midnight Moon ~

Back to Guilds

~ for pagans, wiccans and witches ~ 

Tags: wiccan, witchcraft, paganism, wicca, heathenry 

Reply *~Sanctuary~* (answers and advice)
Basic Energy Work: A Discussion Thread

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Morgandria

Aged Shapeshifter

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 11:23 am
This is a copy of a thread I have in another guild, where we discuss the basics of energy work. Since shielding came up as a subject recently, I thought perhaps MM could also use a similar thread.

What I teach is not pantheon-specific or even really deist in any way; it is fairly standard eclectic neo-pagan energy work, without a religious component. Some of my students are not religiously inclined, so I leave off any religious content - if they desire some at a future point, I can always put it in later.

I'm not claiming to be an expert. I am largely self-taught, based on trial and error, but in the last 10 years I've had the opportunity to fine-tune my skills and learn how to work in various group paradigms. I've got several real-life students whom I've run through the basics of my methods, and I get pretty consistent results.
-------------------------------------------------------------
I'd like to lay some groundwork here, about energy in general, and what I call 'the basics'.

Energy
Let's talk 'energy' for a moment. I tend not to think of energy as a nebulous cloud of sparkly dust just sitting around waiting for someone to wave a wand...there's a bad habit in neo-paganism to be vague and hand-wavy about energy. Energy is the ability to do work. All energy comes from the same place - the Source - and all energy returns there. Energy doesn't stop, or end. Energy exists in two forms - kinetic, and potential. Both have their uses.