Welcome to Gaia! ::

Green; The Eco Guild [LARGEST ON GAIA!]

Back to Guilds

If you love the earth, and want to be part of a group with the same ideals, this is the guild for you! 

Tags: Ecosystem, green, earth, water, clean 

Reply 16:: Gardening!
help?

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Shanna66

9,800 Points
  • Invisibility 100
  • Peoplewatcher 100
  • Full closet 200
PostPosted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 5:47 pm
my rats and bearded dragon adore carrots, and they make up a large part of my gutloading routine for my feeder animals. well instead of buying them from a store which cost alot (im a penny pincher) and i know they use chemicals i would like to grow my own.
ive tried for years to grow them myself and have never even gotten a sprout so i was hoping for a decent step by step guid to growing carrots.
same advice for peas would also be loved as they are my rats' favorite food.
im a total novice when it comes to gardening for food.  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 3:40 am
Well, can you tell me more about how your planting them?  

Complete_Spazz
Captain

5,950 Points
  • Forum Dabbler 200
  • Forum Sophomore 300
  • Popular Thread 100

Shanna66

9,800 Points
  • Invisibility 100
  • Peoplewatcher 100
  • Full closet 200
PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 6:48 am
put a hole in the ground and put in the seeds, thats all im doing and i have the feeling i need to do some other things  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 6:59 am
Carrot seeds are really small, but grow big. Try useing a large pot, like an old bathtub, and fill in with good, rich dirt, with about 1/3 of it being compost. Then, evenly spred the seeds out. There is no reason to need to bury them. Carrots are hard to grow, so keep an eye on them. Hopefully, your pets will have there carrots soon.
~With love, Spazz.  

Complete_Spazz
Captain

5,950 Points
  • Forum Dabbler 200
  • Forum Sophomore 300
  • Popular Thread 100

Ailinea