Welcome to Gaia! ::

Yu-Gi-Oh! Duellists of Gaia

Back to Guilds

YDoG is an all TCG guild for all duellists. We also cover the entire Yu-Gi-Oh! games, shows, manga and RPG. 

Tags: Yugioh, Tournament, Duel, Trading Card Game, Anime 

Reply TCG Rulings
Question about Chaos Sorcerer's effect

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Staticman_09

PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2009 7:13 am


Okay I feel kind of silly asking this question but me and my friend are having disputes about this.

You know how some cards have some special ability's that state "remove a dark and a light from play from your graveyard to special summon this monster," or "remove a earth monster from play from your graveyard to special summon this monster." Well can you activate that effect while the card is in the deck still? Or do you have to have the card in your hand before you can special summon it. Plus can you special summon it from the graveyard using its ability?

My friend likes to use cards like that but we always argue about how they work. I think that you would have to draw them first then you can special summon them. But I'm not sure if they can work in the graveyard though. :/
PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2009 8:34 pm


Staticman_09
Okay I feel kind of silly asking this question but me and my friend are having disputes about this.

You know how some cards have some special ability's that state "remove a dark and a light from play from your graveyard to special summon this monster," or "remove a earth monster from play from your graveyard to special summon this monster." Well can you activate that effect while the card is in the deck still? Or do you have to have the card in your hand before you can special summon it. Plus can you special summon it from the graveyard using its ability?

My friend likes to use cards like that but we always argue about how they work. I think that you would have to draw them first then you can special summon them. But I'm not sure if they can work in the graveyard though. :/
Unless a card specifies otherwise, a monster must be summoned from the hand.

Zero Hiru
Captain

Unforgiving Hunter


hybrid_hero

8,650 Points
  • Gaian 50
  • Survivor 150
  • Invisibility 100
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 11:21 am


Any monster card that says 'You can only Special Summon this monster by...' are called Nomi monsters.
This means they can only be summoned by their own effect. Also, unless stated otherwise they can only be Special summoned from the hand.
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 9:28 am


you can also special summon it from the grave right?

TheCheshireBat


Old man Falconstein

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 9:42 am


First of all ,yes you have to do it in your hand...I ran a chaos deck and know what I am talking about.
Second,I am on the half and half of the revival from the graveyard because of dark necrofear...let me explain.
Originally on upperdecks site it stated if you summoned it by her effect and later on it got destroyed you could special summon her back with monster reborn but that loop hole was changed on some cards like dark paladin and F.G.D.
The only thing I can say is just follow the summoning laws of the card and don't touch it from the graveyard.
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 9:46 am


Chaos Sorcerer is a "can only be Special Summoned by" monster so the only way to summon it is from your hand with the effect or with anouther effect from the Graveyard or removed from play if he was Summoned Sccessfully first.

Jevan R. H. Divinitive
Crew


Jazzy Zeig

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 9:51 am


You're confusing yourself, Old man Falconstein. It's all in the wording.

Monsters such as Chaos Sorcerer, who say "This card can only be Special Summoned" must be Special Summoned from the hand through the requirement on the card. Once it is Summoned properly through this requirement, it may be Special Summoned from the Graveyard and/or the Removed From Play if it would be there later in the game.

Monsters such as Judgment Dragon or Dark Armed Dragon, who say "This card cannot be Special Summoned except by" can only be Special Summoned from the hand when they meet the specified requirement, and cannot be Special Summoned through any other means. If it is in the Graveyard, you must return it to your hand to Special Summon it again, but must still meet the requirement(s).

Fusion Monsters that say "This card can only be Special Summoned by Fusion Summon" must be Special Summoned in that manner first, before it can be Special Summoned another way later in the game(such as Monster Reborn). However, if the Fusion Monster is sent back to the Extra Deck, you must properly Fusion Summon it again in order to play it.
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 10:19 am


Lana Valkyrie
You're confusing yourself, Old man Falconstein. It's all in the wording.

Monsters such as Chaos Sorcerer, who say "This card can only be Special Summoned" must be Special Summoned from the hand through the requirement on the card. Once it is Summoned properly through this requirement, it may be Special Summoned from the Graveyard and/or the Removed From Play if it would be there later in the game.

Monsters such as Judgment Dragon or Dark Armed Dragon, who say "This card cannot be Special Summoned except by" can only be Special Summoned from the hand when they meet the specified requirement, and cannot be Special Summoned through any other means. If it is in the Graveyard, you must return it to your hand to Special Summon it again, but must still meet the requirement(s).

Fusion Monsters that say "This card can only be Special Summoned by Fusion Summon" must be Special Summoned in that manner first, before it can be Special Summoned another way later in the game(such as Monster Reborn). However, if the Fusion Monster is sent back to the Extra Deck, you must properly Fusion Summon it again in order to play it.
First a little addition to Fusion Monsters, Ritual Monsters and Synchro monsters. If they aren't Summoned by Fusion, Ritual or Synchro Summon, such as Cyber-stien, then they cannot be Special Summoned from the Graveyard/removed from play.

Jevan R. H. Divinitive
Crew


TheCheshireBat

PostPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 7:11 pm


can it be chaos ss during your oponents turn
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 12:03 am


ninja master fat rob
can it be chaos ss during your oponents turn



If it was special summoned properly first and then you use a card like Call of the Haunted, then yes. If you mean special summon from the hand, no.

User Image

Aurora Sonata

Cute Hero


TheCheshireBat

PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 4:08 am


can it be ss during you opnts turn using its own effect i mean
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 6:16 am


ninja master fat rob
can it be ss during you opnts turn using its own effect i mean
It cannot.

Jevan R. H. Divinitive
Crew


TheCheshireBat

PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 3:47 pm


GAAAYY lol ok then ^-^
Reply
TCG Rulings

 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum