Why do you like Doctor Who so much? Goto Page: 1 2 3 ... 4 5 6 7 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

UniversalDestiny
Captain

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 8:27 pm
Let's see what type of responses we'll get here.

Since I'm still new to the series I'll start first. I love the different types of stories and issues that are brought up in Doctor Who. Usually, a typical American show will rehash everything that has been done in a different show. However, being an American myself I welcome Doctor Who as an alternative to the usual drama that American shows portray.

It's scientific and it makes you look at things in a whole new perspective. The idea of sentience, the value of life and friendship. Since I've started watching the show, I have never seen Rose/Martha or the Doctor become Drama Queens. Yes, Jack is portrayed as a typical American guns blazing in a reign of glory, but still, Doctor Who makes you think about things that have long been forgotten in this world. Friendship, Laughter, Life... things that the world, especially Americans have forgotten these days. Even after 9/11, I think we have returned to a pre-9/11 state where we think nothing is going to happen. We need to be shown how to love, laugh, and have fun...imagine. Instead of focusing on ourselves, we need to think of others and to me Doctor Who shows me that.

Plus, I'm a history major love all the references to history and previous events and the future that Science may eventually take us someday.  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 10:53 am
I was introduced to Doctor Who by my parents obscure references to hiding behind the sofa because the Daleks were coming. I was there when they showed the first episode of the new series "Rose" on Auntie Beeb, being a Brit. I've been hooked ever since.