|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri May 25, 2012 1:22 pm
Ok, I am seriously confused. What the heck constitutes a x4 or x2 type bonus move? The battle is HERE. I only think I need to take off 200 from my previous post because I think that Blizzard is a x2 move because that is what it says on Serebii and on the link you posted. It says that ice moves are x2 effective against dragon types so Ive been using the x2 type advantage...Im SERIOUSLY confused! Im like...freaking out crying I mean...Qixel has +50 for type bonus and +50 for attack bonus...please help? gonk
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri May 25, 2012 5:56 pm
Snowbelle Thundara Ok, I am seriously confused. What the heck constitutes a x4 or x2 type bonus move? The battle is HERE. I only think I need to take off 200 from my previous post because I think that Blizzard is a x2 move because that is what it says on Serebii and on the link you posted. It says that ice moves are x2 effective against dragon types so Ive been using the x2 type advantage...Im SERIOUSLY confused! Im like...freaking out crying I mean...Qixel has +50 for type bonus and +50 for attack bonus...please help? gonk "What the heck constitutes a x4 or x2 type bonus move?" Check Bulbapedia / Serebii / your Pokémon site of choice and it'll tell you. Alternatively, you can remember types (ie. Electric is 2x effective against water and 2x effective against flying, so it's 4x effective against Gyarados who is Water/Flying type) but I don't think many people want to, so... yeah. A site. XD
"I only think I need to take off 200 from my previous post because I think that Blizzard is a x2 move because that is what it says on Serebii and on the link you posted." I'm not sure where you got this part? On Serebii and Bulbapedia for Vibrava, it says Ice is a 4x move against it (because it's both a ground and a dragon type, and both are 2x weak to ice so together they make Vibrava 4x weak to ice) so you have to apply the 4x disadvantage.
And from the Battle Format thread, we have: "[(Base Damage+ Type Dis/Advantage Bonus + Stat Change Bonus) x 2 if and only if you get a Critical Hit] + FIELD BONUS" and "If a move is x4 effective towards an opponent's pokemon, you get a +100 HP Type Advantage Bonus"
So yours would be: [100 (Base) + 100 (4x Effectiveness) + 50 (Attack Stat)] = 250 Damage, or 500 for crits.
Hope it helps! If you need anything clarified, just let me know.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri May 25, 2012 6:50 pm
/cackles wildly at being mentioned in the clarification thread/
Anyways, I had forgotten about this thread, and it will be useful for my new question.
Odor Sleuth has the same effect as Foresight within the games, yet only Odor Sleuth is usable here in Extrasensory. Is this intended, or is it an oversight?
Another question mostly relating to my buneary: Magic Coat, on a 4, will redirect a status attack back at the opponent. I am under the impression that that would imply that if, say, the move I was trying to reflect was a confusion inducing one, I would not be confused until AFTER I fail the roll, and thus not have to randomize for confusion on that particular attack, ignoring of course if I was already afflicted with a status of some sort. I apologize if this question is difficult to follow.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri May 25, 2012 9:24 pm
@Ryuu: THANK YOU!! I just took another look at Serebii's page and realized Im an Idiot sweatdrop for some reason I was reading it as a x2 instead of x4 ><; the flippin smoke is getting to me....Thanks for clearing it up Ryuu! heart
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2012 3:20 pm
So, I have a question not pertaining to any battle, mostly due to the fact that I will not use it until I understand it, given there is no information anywhere I have looked (I presume this to be an oversight, one even I missed until I looked into it).
Curse [Ghost] - IF NON-GHOST POKEMON: Raise your (CHOOSE ONE) attack or defense until fainting/switching out. IF GHOST POKEMON: Roll two 4-sided dice in order to curse your opponent's pokemon. First dice determines if it hits or not; 1-2 = miss, 3-4 = hit. Second dice determines how long the condition lasts, 1 = 1 turn, 2 = 2 turns, etc. (count only your opponent's turns for the countdown)
Now, obviously, the non-ghost portion answers itself. My question is in regards to the ghost portion. I have a duskull now, and it knows Curse. That said, there is absolutely no information on what the Curse status does here. I assume it would be a secondary status like love and confusion, given that's how it is in the games, and that it would work similarly to poison/burn. However, that's just me theorizing, and in the end, my word means nothing against the intention of the design.
Clarification? emotion_kirakira
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 11:11 am
@Qix: Ah ha~ I have the same question about curse, so I can't answer this xD
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 8:18 am
Oh hey. I forgot this thread exists. Soooo, about secondary stat effects. Rules say that a pokemon can be affected by any number of secondary status effects, like confusion and love. What happens if a pokemon attempts to inflict a secondary status while their opponent is already effected by it? Specifically, my opponent is affected by Confusion, and will be on turn 3/3 on his next attack. My pokemon attempts to confuse it again and the move goes through (not my choice, it's using Sleep Talk so I randomly rolled Swagger) for 2 turns of effect. Does the new confusion override the old, setting him at turn 1/2 of confusion? Or does it basically have no effect since my opponent is already confused, so he stays at turn 3/3?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 10:12 am
mewrose Oh hey. I forgot this thread exists. Soooo, about secondary stat effects. Rules say that a pokemon can be affected by any number of secondary status effects, like confusion and love. What happens if a pokemon attempts to inflict a secondary status while their opponent is already effected by it? Specifically, my opponent is affected by Confusion, and will be on turn 3/3 on his next attack. My pokemon attempts to confuse it again and the move goes through (not my choice, it's using Sleep Talk so I randomly rolled Swagger) for 2 turns of effect. Does the new confusion override the old, setting him at turn 1/2 of confusion? Or does it basically have no effect since my opponent is already confused, so he stays at turn 3/3? You cannot overwrite a status effect until it ends. :3 Assuming I'm understanding this correctly, your opponent is at 2/3 confusion when Sleep Talk rolls Swagger. If this is the case, the move does nothing, because it would be totally OP if you could reapply status effects before they end. The note about being allowed to use as many secondary status effects as you want/can is in regards to different status effects - they still follow the cannot be re-applied rule in the game. Hope this helps. <3
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 10:25 am
|
|
|
|
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|