Welcome to Gaia! ::

Bashful Noob

I'm really keen to start but I have no idea how or where to source materials... Anyone help?

Fashionable Noob

If it's for jewelry www.riogrande.com sells stuff. I'm not an expert on the topic though, there could be somewhere better.

Bashful Noob

Kaielyn
If it's for jewelry www.riogrande.com sells stuff. I'm not an expert on the topic though, there could be somewhere better.

Thank you so much!

O.G. Gaian

There's a smith who pops in here now and then... page back in the forum, he posted a thread a month or two ago about a tanto he'd made, with plenty of process photos. 3nodding

Tricky Conversationalist

8,750 Points
  • Risky Lifestyle 100
  • Brandisher 100
  • Peoplewatcher 100
What kind of metal smithing? You have smelting and casting, forging, welding, and machining.

My weakest area of experience is casting. I do have experience in several casting methods, but nowhere near the level I have in the other fields such as forging or machining. Right now I'm just a journeyman smith(ABANA list of Journeyman skills). I only have a level 1 machining certificate, but I'm in the process of making my own CNC machine/3d printer. I'm very familiar with G-code and I write my own programs. It's really easy on 2 and 3 axis machines. I have a couple welders and make random things with scrap pieces too big to melt down into blooms. You can make your own spot welder with a microwave oven. It's really handy when welding chainmaille.

Bashful Noob

chainmailleman
What kind of metal smithing? You have smelting and casting, forging, welding, and machining.