Welcome to Gaia! ::

Whenever I wear stage makeup I break out horribly. It happens to everyone else in the cast, too. Does anyone know anything to help with this?

LOLLl qAq's Bae

Questionable Baby

24,800 Points
  • Interstellar Fixer 25
  • Normal Everyday Human 50
  • Unfortunate Abductee 175
Best thing to do is tell whoever buys the makeup.. Of if you're reguired to buy a certain brand take it up with whomever is in charge of that. You could also just go out and buy hypo-allergenic make-up, or go even one step farther and by hypo-allergenic for sensitive skin.. Just a thought.
Tell your makeup person to buy some Kryolan. It's a stage makeup company, but their products (all 10,000 of them) won't make you break out.
Tamgerine
Whenever I wear stage makeup I break out horribly. It happens to everyone else in the cast, too. Does anyone know anything to help with this?

I've been acting for 13 years and all I've ever used is over the counter make-up. No expensive "theatre" make-up for me. I don't wear it normally and I still don't break out with extended use.
If EVERYONE is breaking out, then the makeup could be expired or there could be a problem with bacteria. Does each actor get a new applicator sponge every night? Do they reuse any application thingies at all? Do you wear moisturizer under your makeup? How old is it? Does everyone take care to wash it off that night and then moisturize like crazy?

There could be a number of factors that make individuals break out, but if everyone is doing it....
The Lisa Faerie
If EVERYONE is breaking out, then the makeup could be expired or there could be a problem with bacteria. Does each actor get a new applicator sponge every night? Do they reuse any application thingies at all? Do you wear moisturizer under your makeup? How old is it? Does everyone take care to wash it off that night and then moisturize like crazy?

There could be a number of factors that make individuals break out, but if everyone is doing it....