Welcome to Gaia! ::

Alright so, in the past week I have started a new routine on how to better my life and loose weight (Support is needed I am having a very hard time with this, this is my first time trying to make a change in my life)

Ever since I started walking (which isn't much, 30 minute walks, once a day) My muscles in my legs are getting sore. (the ones right above the knees)

I do want to continue walking since I feel motivated about this but I am not sure if I should continue to excersie abit, even with the pain.

Is there any tips I should know about minizing pain and stuff in general? I am new to the whole weight loss thing ^^;;

if anyone is wondering, I am aiming to loose 20 pounds by may.

Mega Nerd

Definitely do some stretching before you workout, it really really helps with that. I sometimes do it after as like a cool down.

If you lost 2lbs a week you could get it done by may but it's difficult.
Focus more so on exercising and eating right and the weight loss will follow along.
Just don't push yourself trying to loose it all at once.

Attacking Fatcat

27,050 Points
  • Unbreakable Bond 150
  • Alchemy Level 10 100
  • Partygoer 500
Essentially what The Pale Emperor stated. If you walk a lot at your job or whatever, you may have changed your gait during your walking, with longer steps, which would stretch those muscles a little more. As you start to exercise regularly, your body should learn to cope with the new strain and get used to it. That's the idea behind training for 5k's, to work your body so it eventually gets used to being able to do that much work at once.

Dedicated Smoker

7,400 Points
  • Cat Fancier 100
  • Full closet 200
  • Forum Sophomore 300
One IMPORTANT thing I learned is do not stretch before you exercise, or on cold muscles. That actually ends up straining the muscles.

There are different types of stretching.
Static - Just the regular stretch that you would hold for 10-15 seconds.