Welcome to Gaia! ::

Are you learning a language? Do you already know more than 1 language? What way(s) did you learn? Did you think your learning methods were successful/helpful?
But mostly I want to meet and talk to people who are learning another language, or even just interested in learning another language. ^^
A little bit about me: My name is Kristin, I'm 20 years old and I live in Alaska. I'm currently learning Mandarin Chinese through a class at my university, but I am also self studying Korean (though not much progress has been made because I have little time).

6,325 Points
  • Statustician 100
  • Hygienic 200
  • Signature Look 250
I'd like to pop in and contribute to your thread!

I am learning a language. I do know more than one already.
How I learned is a complicated process. Several of the languages I'm studying are ancient or dead languages, so immersion isn't exactly an easy possibility. Several of the languages also have very scarce resources. Based on what I do already, I'd say they were pretty successful in terms of myself. If I were to apply my method to someone who has no linguistic background, it probably wouldn't work out well for them.

I'm always interested in meeting people learning languages too!

I'm 26 and am studying to be a historical linguist. :B

Obsessive Man-Lover

27,675 Points
  • Way Too Many Pies 300
  • Abomination 100
  • 50 Wins 150
i'm from scotland so english is my first language.

i studied french in primary/highschool for 6-7 years. it was successful i guess since i still remember most of what i learned even though i'm not using it often.

i studied latin in university for 6 months. it was great at the time and i felt like i learned a lot but i forgot pretty much everything right away when i stopped studying.