Welcome to Gaia! ::

Unbeatable Lunatic

So today I drew five draft pages of a comic. I showed it to my mother and brother and they independently agreed that it sucked. I've been reading books about comics for over a year, but this is my first attempt at full pages. I never considered myself a strong writer, but it's difficult for me to look objectively at my own work--I can't see what I'm missing since the story is in my head. I mean, I can see the inconsistencies and lazy bits in the art, and I know I can fix that. But storytelling? I can't tell.

Basically, I want to know how to improve it story/art/claritywise before I make the effort to ruler up and ink and color the pages. If it's boring/stereotypical/nonsense I want to know before I waste any more time.

Benevolent Genius

13,900 Points
  • Grunny Harvester 150
  • Bunny Hoarder 150
  • Mark Twain 100
I'm not sure what tone you were going for. If it was "silly", you succeeded. Using eyes of newts to put out a fire is so out there that I can't help but smile. The rule of threes thing amused me too. The part about Rhys's clothes was also funny.

The flow is fine. I never had any trouble figuring what to read next.

The text is readable, but you should avoid having to hyphenate a word like the plague. Find a smaller word or make the bubble bigger.

The quest thing has been done before, but still, I'd read this. I want to know what happens next.

Unbeatable Lunatic

Tenko72
I'm not sure what tone you were going for. If it was "silly", you succeeded. Using eyes of newts to put out a fire is so out there that I can't help but smile. The rule of threes thing amused me too. The part about Rhys's clothes was also funny.

The flow is fine. I never had any trouble figuring what to read next.

The text is readable, but you should avoid having to hyphenate a word like the plague. Find a smaller word or make the bubble bigger.