|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 7:45 am
 I first saw this in a friends Deity deck and I wasn't really sure of a way I could use this to just my advantage, but now I've got a fairly simple deck with it. Certainly not a great deck, but it's pretty mean in a 3-6 person chaos. So, what are your thoughts?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 2:39 pm
ok, get this, it is the most cheapest way to lock down your opponent...
Teferi, Mage of Zhalfir and Eye of the Storm!!!
Eye of the storm says that the player 'may' play the spell, and teferi says that the player can only play spells anytime he or she could play sorceries, and sorceries cannot be played with other effects and/or spells on the stack, so they are unable to ever play any instant or sorcery cards again!!! You are still allowed to, so you have complete control over the game!!!
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2007 7:41 pm
Use it with Sins of the Past and Split Second cards.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 8:31 am
A few questions real quick, just to make sure, though I plan on checking Crystal Keep later too.
1) With this, could you play a sorcery card removed from the game during someone else's turn?
2) Split second cards would resolve in time so I could copy the next right?
I had something else, but I completely lost my train of thought when I started typing.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 6:00 pm
chaos.ultima.mage  I first saw this in a friends Deity deck and I wasn't really sure of a way I could use this to just my advantage, but now I've got a fairly simple deck with it. Certainly not a great deck, but it's pretty mean in a 3-6 person chaos. So, what are your thoughts? So needed for my stack deck. it's not enough that i have Djinn Illuminatus, Mirari, two twincast, and a Reiterate. i want lots of things on the stack, great for Grapeshoting. so, how rare is this card exactly?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 7:00 pm
For evil nasty fun, throw in a Grip of Chaos. xd Random s**t just flying everywhere. Nobody knowing which creature, or player, is going to get hit with what effect. And it limts the chances of the Eye dying, 'cause Disenchant might hit one of their things instead. People will be afraid to play spells.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 10:07 am
wellwisher So needed for my stack deck. it's not enough that i have Djinn Illuminatus, Mirari, two twincast, and a Reiterate. i want lots of things on the stack, great for Grapeshoting. so, how rare is this card exactly? Not too terribly. I have 3 and they are incredibly cheap online. I think I might put Grapeshot back in mine.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 7:39 pm
chaos.ultima.mage wellwisher So needed for my stack deck. it's not enough that i have Djinn Illuminatus, Mirari, two twincast, and a Reiterate. i want lots of things on the stack, great for Grapeshoting. so, how rare is this card exactly? Not too terribly. I have 3 and they are incredibly cheap online. I think I might put Grapeshot back in mine. The card doesn't say in what order the spells are put onto the stack, am i able to decide the order of the copied spells? so, if i were to activate the spells without storm first, then the storm spells afterwards? if so, thats a rather obscenely powerful card in UR
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 9:17 pm
wellwisher chaos.ultima.mage wellwisher So needed for my stack deck. it's not enough that i have Djinn Illuminatus, Mirari, two twincast, and a Reiterate. i want lots of things on the stack, great for Grapeshoting. so, how rare is this card exactly? Not too terribly. I have 3 and they are incredibly cheap online. I think I might put Grapeshot back in mine. The card doesn't say in what order the spells are put onto the stack, am i able to decide the order of the copied spells? so, if i were to activate the spells without storm first, then the storm spells afterwards? if so, thats a rather obscenely powerful card in UR I think it just copy the effect of the card, like "Draw a card" or "Deal this much damage", and the storm part doesn't get copied. I'll have to look further into that though.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Mar 31, 2007 9:00 am
Well, since it says "Then that player copies each instant or sorcery card removed from the game with Eye of the Storm." so, it seems as though that I would get an exact copy of each spell card. I suppose the official rules would state something like the spells are stacked as they were played, which would make the most sense.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Mar 31, 2007 10:38 am
wellwisher Well, since it says "Then that player copies each instant or sorcery card removed from the game with Eye of the Storm." so, it seems as though that I would get an exact copy of each spell card. I suppose the official rules would state something like the spells are stacked as they were played, which would make the most sense. Exact spells are copied, including Replicate, Storm, Splice, etc... You copy the spells in the order that they were removed, but you may choose not to copy certain spells. If used correctly, yes, this is an incredibly powerful card.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Mar 31, 2007 1:47 pm
oh, one last question, the text sats that whenever a player plays an instant or soercery spell, remove it from the game, so, that would be before it resolves, then, i get to copy each spell removed by Eye of the Storm, that would include the first spell played....
hmm...i thnk that this would really hurt counterspell decks if it gets into play. since, counterspell counters a spell thats been played before it resolves, so, you could only counter the spell copies that were being played because of the Eye of the Storm.
hmm, how to break it......? is there a way of removing the effects of a permanent until end of turn? or just countering until end of turn?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 12:34 pm
You know what's really broken with Eye of the Storm?
Split Cards.
Play one side to get on the Eye, then play the other side when the Eye's Trigger resolves.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 12:39 pm
wellwisher oh, one last question, the text sats that whenever a player plays an instant or soercery spell, remove it from the game, so, that would be before it resolves, then, i get to copy each spell removed by Eye of the Storm, that would include the first spell played.... hmm...i thnk that this would really hurt counterspell decks if it gets into play. since, counterspell counters a spell thats been played before it resolves, so, you could only counter the spell copies that were being played because of the Eye of the Storm. hmm, how to break it......? is there a way of removing the effects of a permanent until end of turn? or just countering until end of turn? The enchantment can still be Disenchanted, Boomeranged, countered upon being played, etc...so it's not so overpowering in that respect. As far as countering with it in play...I'd assume it'd be your stack on the Eye versus theirs. If you play a counter spell after they play something, you'd copy first, so you'd counter what you wanted to counter and then copy the rest. Then, they'd copy the rest of their stack.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 9:17 pm
chaos.ultima.mage The enchantment can still be Disenchanted, Boomeranged, countered upon being played, etc...so it's not so overpowering in that respect. As far as countering with it in play...I'd assume it'd be your stack on the Eye versus theirs. If you play a counter spell after they play something, you'd copy first, so you'd counter what you wanted to counter and then copy the rest. Then, they'd copy the rest of their stack. not really, what i was getting at would be that you wouldn't be countering any spells from activating. see, they play a spell then you counter it, the Eye still activates and removes both spells from the game. then you get all spells removed by the Eye, then they would, including the spell they wanted to play in the first place.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|