Reply ::Gamer Chicks::
how do you play fighting games? Goto Page: 1 2 3 4 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

How do you play fighting games?
  Mash those buttons!
  Up, up, forward, down, square, circle, L1, backward, R2, square, square, baby!!
  Who needs combos or mashing? I use any move that works over and over again
  It's not my kind of genre
View Results

daft alchemist

Dapper Dabbler

8,050 Points
  • Overstocked 200
  • Millionaire 200
  • Tycoon 200
PostPosted: Wed Jul 05, 2006 9:24 pm
I know there's generally two kinds of fighting game styles of play: using combos or button mashing. I started playing Street Fighter when I was about five, and I didn't even know what a combo was back then. The most I could do with combos was getting Chun Li to kick really really fast.

Well, now that I'm trying to get good with Soul Calibur 3, I've had to start to teach myself to use combos, throws, and blocks. I want to be good enough to at least be a little competition for my boyfriend, and I know he'd love that too. My problem is that I still tend to button mash a bit. sweatdrop I'm getting better though.

So how about you all? smile  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:30 am
I button mash when I don't know how to play a game. But I pay attention to what I press so I know what does what. I still can't do B.B.Hood's smiley missile and I know how to do it. Its left and right really fast. gonk But I practice on games alot. Me and my bro do practice mode for hours to get really good at a couple of characters.  

mysticneko

toast in disguise

PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:39 am
Practice mode.

I remember i got so good at SC2 and Voldo, i would pwn all my friends, and blow though arcade/survival like it was nothing using MAINLY the c stick.

But then i stopped.

Meh, I think almost everyone does/or has button mashed.  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 3:29 am
I don't.  

Pirri

Mistagen