|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 12:35 am
k i have a rule question concerning lurking informant, say a player tries to activate his ability, and i tap it before the ability resolves, can the opponent in response to me trying to tap it reactivate the ability to make it resolve and happen ???
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 4:38 am
No. Once the Informant becomes tapped, no matter how that is, the ability will not resolve. It is the same as tapping a creature between declare attackers and attack step. He tries to get the bility to resolve by declaring that it will become tapped and you then respond to it by tapping it, your tap will not let the ability resolve. Better?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 1:40 pm
MrVamp25 No. Once the Informant becomes tapped, no matter how that is, the ability will not resolve. It is the same as tapping a creature between declare attackers and attack step. He tries to get the bility to resolve by declaring that it will become tapped and you then respond to it by tapping it, your tap will not let the ability resolve. Better?
No, that's not right. Tapping the Informant to use its ability is part of the cost to play the ability. Tapping it in response to it activating is useless, since it becomes tapped when you pay the cost and the ability goes on the stack.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 4:24 pm
Doji Tsuruko MrVamp25 No. Once the Informant becomes tapped, no matter how that is, the ability will not resolve. It is the same as tapping a creature between declare attackers and attack step. He tries to get the bility to resolve by declaring that it will become tapped and you then respond to it by tapping it, your tap will not let the ability resolve. Better? No, that's not right. Tapping the Informant to use its ability is part of the cost to play the ability. Tapping it in response to it activating is useless, since it becomes tapped when you pay the cost and the ability goes on the stack. Yes, this is correct. In future, there's actually a thread for rules questions...and that reduces clutter, which is a Good Thing(tm).
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 5:41 pm
Tohma_Seguchi_San Doji Tsuruko MrVamp25 No. Once the Informant becomes tapped, no matter how that is, the ability will not resolve. It is the same as tapping a creature between declare attackers and attack step. He tries to get the bility to resolve by declaring that it will become tapped and you then respond to it by tapping it, your tap will not let the ability resolve. Better? No, that's not right. Tapping the Informant to use its ability is part of the cost to play the ability. Tapping it in response to it activating is useless, since it becomes tapped when you pay the cost and the ability goes on the stack. Yes, this is correct. In future, there's actually a thread for rules questions...and that reduces clutter, which is a Good Thing(tm). kk thanx for informing me, but before i let this thread die i must know, so if the ability is already annonced is there no way to stop it from happening ??? and if so, if i tap it before he ever announces trying to play the ability can he then use the ability beore my spell/ability that tries to tap him resloves
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 8:02 pm
Once the ability is on the stack, the only way to stop it from resolving is to use another spell or ability to counter it (for example, Stifle or Squelch).
If you attempt to tap the Informant with a spell or ability before your opponent has announced that he's going to activate it, he can activate it in response to your spell/ability that would tap it going on the stack, provided he can pay the activation cost.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 8:54 pm
Doji Tsuruko Once the ability is on the stack, the only way to stop it from resolving is to use another spell or ability to counter it (for example, Stifle or Squelch). If you attempt to tap the Informant with a spell or ability before your opponent has announced that he's going to activate it, he can activate it in response to your spell/ability that would tap it going on the stack, provided he can pay the activation cost. Basically, to stop a creature with a tap ability you need to do one of the following: a) Tap it (and hope your opponent can't pay the activation cost in response, which is unlikely) b) Counter the ability.c) Kill the creature. Twice. What I mean is, target it with death, then when he activates that ability, kill it AGAIN. Your death spell will resolve (killing the creature) first, then when the creature's ability tries to resolve it goes "OMGWTFBBQ" and can't resolve properly. And then your wasted kill spell follows suit. It's best to go with the bolded option because one of the others is a gamble, and the remaining is a waste of useful cards.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 12:14 am
Mikujin c) Kill the creature. Twice. What I mean is, target it with death, then when he activates that ability, kill it AGAIN. Your death spell will resolve (killing the creature) first, then when the creature's ability tries to resolve it goes "OMGWTFBBQ" and can't resolve properly. And then your wasted kill spell follows suit.
This only applies if the activated ability in question requires the creature to still be in play when the ability resolves.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 12:41 pm
i would like to thank u guys for answering my question and for futue questions i will post them in the right place
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|