Welcome to Gaia! ::

Yu-Gi-Oh! Duellists of Gaia

Back to Guilds

YDoG is an all TCG guild for all duellists. We also cover the entire Yu-Gi-Oh! games, shows, manga and RPG. 

Tags: Yugioh, Tournament, Duel, Trading Card Game, Anime 

Reply TCG Rulings
It just crossed my mind...

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Mr_dragon

1,250 Points
  • Dressed Up 200
  • Treasure Hunter 100
  • Member 100
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2011 5:29 pm


If you had 4 out of the 5 diiferent pieces of exodia in your hand, you had only 1 card left in your deck(last piece) , and you activated a card like pot of greed (anything that lets you draw 2 cards it was just the first I came up with), what would happen?Would you lose from running out of cards, win from exodia's effect, or would it be a draw from these happening at the same time?
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2011 5:52 pm


i think u would win becase if u cant draw on your next turn u would lose the game

sano16


Mr_dragon

1,250 Points
  • Dressed Up 200
  • Treasure Hunter 100
  • Member 100
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2011 5:54 pm


sano16
i think u would win becase if u cant draw on your next turn u would lose the game

Yeah, but you only have one card in the deck and your supposed to draw 2
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2011 6:01 pm


Mr_dragon
sano16
i think u would win becase if u cant draw on your next turn u would lose the game

Yeah, but you only have one card in the deck and your supposed to draw 2


Honestly, I'm no Judge....So I won't be giving a professional's opinion, But I believe it would be a draw. Like I said though, I'm no Judge.

Yusaru


sano16

PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2011 6:02 pm


then it would be a draw unless u had the 5 exodia cards in your hand first then u would just win
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2011 6:28 pm


If you have only 1 card in your deck you CANNOT activate Pot of Greed or Reckless Greed because it causes you to lose. So you don't win lose or draw since it doesn't happen at all.

Tsukinoki


B1g_crunch

Questionable Loiterer

8,800 Points
  • Millionaire 200
  • Perfect Attendance 400
  • Flatterer 200
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2011 6:30 pm


For effects that make you draw more than you have, you would lose when you go to draw the second card. Since the second draw is still pot of greed's effect resolving, you'd lose.

I'm not sure though if you could call priority for your turn to use Exodia's effect. Probably not, because of the whole resolution thing.

Ask MLS or GM; they're better at this.
PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2011 2:37 am


Tsukinoki
If you have only 1 card in your deck you CANNOT activate Pot of Greed or Reckless Greed because it causes you to lose. So you don't win lose or draw since it doesn't happen at all.


Scratch what I said before! I like this answer better!! 3nodding

Yusaru


Zero Hiru
Captain

Unforgiving Hunter

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2011 3:03 am


1: Since you have 1 card left in your deck, you cannot play pot of greed. Its basically an unwritten rule that you can't make yourself loose outside of scooping or not doing anything.
2: If an effect forces you to draw more cards than what remains in your deck, you lose.

extra fun fact
3: You must finish resolving the current card effect before you claim victory with exodia. EX - Your only 2 cards in hand are exodia parts. You play graceful charity. You draw 3 exodia parts. You must finish resolving graceful charity so you will have to toss 2 parts and will not be able to claim victory
PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2011 6:22 am


Zero Hiru
1: Since you have 1 card left in your deck, you cannot play pot of greed. Its basically an unwritten rule that you can't make yourself loose outside of scooping or not doing anything.
2: If an effect forces you to draw more cards than what remains in your deck, you lose.

extra fun fact
3: You must finish resolving the current card effect before you claim victory with exodia. EX - Your only 2 cards in hand are exodia parts. You play graceful charity. You draw 3 exodia parts. You must finish resolving graceful charity so you will have to toss 2 parts and will not be able to claim victory


That is very depressing....

Yusaru


Gravitational Molestation

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2011 7:25 am


To clarify on Zero Hiru's #2... if you have 1 left in deck and they use Hand Destruction you lose, regardless of if you draw the final piece of Exodia.
PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2011 5:31 pm


Okay that makes sense. Like I said before, it was just something that crossed my mind.

Mr_dragon

1,250 Points
  • Dressed Up 200
  • Treasure Hunter 100
  • Member 100
Reply
TCG Rulings

 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum