Welcome to Gaia! ::

Roleplaying Gems [A Literate Roleplaying Community]

Back to Guilds

We provide a roleplaying environment suitable for learning, teaching, mentoring, and benefiting from that experience. 

Tags: roleplaying, gems, literate, roleplay, fantasy 

Reply Roleplaying Gems [Roleplaying + Community Area]
The Perfect Fight!

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Cheshiyre
Crew

PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 11:31 pm
Struggle with fighting sequences? Want to offer advice and tips for those that are struggling? You are in the right place! Discuss how to roleplay fight scenes here.  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 11:38 pm
I'm always sketchy about fighting, partly because I've never done it before, and also because I've never fought in my life. sweatdrop I've punched someone, and I've been punched, but never in the same incident. I don't think I've ever read a fight in a book, so I wouldn't know how to write one. How do you know when the fight's over? How can you tell who's more powerful? How do you stop yourself from godmodding? etc etc etc I'd like to see that example.  

Different...Very.

Distinct Dabbler

16,000 Points
  • Entrepreneur 150
  • Team Josie 25
  • Bunny Spotter 50

T3rran

PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 4:56 pm
While I'm not a mentor, fighting can become a major problem in RP's, and most of the time, fighting kills the RP, because a lot of people don't want their 'super awesome character' to lose.

So, my tips that I try and use are as follows:

1. In a fight, leave your attacks open ended as much as possible, this gives the other player a chance to do many things, such as dodge the attack, or allow it to make contact.