Welcome to Gaia! ::

Yu-Gi-Oh! Duellists of Gaia

Back to Guilds

YDoG is an all TCG guild for all duellists. We also cover the entire Yu-Gi-Oh! games, shows, manga and RPG. 

Tags: Yugioh, Tournament, Duel, Trading Card Game, Anime 

Reply TCG Rulings
Once per turn

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

sky_rider19

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 6:20 pm


at the place where I duel, there is someone who says you can use an effect that says "once per turn" on you or your oppenent's turn. my question is is that right?
PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:30 pm


What card exactly?

dragon_of_south


Zero Hiru
Captain

Unforgiving Hunter

PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 6:49 am


sky_rider19
at the place where I duel, there is someone who says you can use an effect that says "once per turn" on you or your oppenent's turn. my question is is that right?
"Once per turn" usually means only on your turn unless otherwise stated. it just depends on the card. If you would like to name some cards, we can let you know when they can be used.
PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 1:04 pm


alright I'm guessing the reactors are once per either player's turn right?

sky_rider19


Jazz Turnabout

PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 6:21 pm


No monster effect can be used during the opponent's turn unless specified in the card text.

Strike Ninja, for example, states that his effect can be used during your opponent's turn.

There are other monster effects that don't depend on who's turn it is, and activates when the requirement is met. This is usually stated in the card text by the word "when".

For example, Giant Rat's effect claims "When this monster is destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard...", it activates when that requirement is met, regardless of who's turn it is.

As it stands, "Once per turn" is directed towards monster effects that can be used only during the Main Phase of the controller's turn. There is not a single monster that has "Once per turn" in the text, and can also be used during the opponent's turn.

Edit: Checking the individual card rulings made by Konami here, the effects of the Reactor series can be used during the Damage Step. However, it is not specified that you can use it during your opponent's turn. Your answer would be no.
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 1:00 am


There are several cards that state "Once per turn..." and can be activated on your opponent's turn such as "Once per turn...you can negate an attack" and "Once per turn...this card is not destroyed by battle". Most once per turn cards are Ignition effects that can only be activated on your turn unless otherwise stated such as "Strike Ninja". The Reactor Series like the example above are Trigger effects which can be activated on your opponent's turn.

Jevan R. H. Divinitive
Crew


Shaded Flames

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 2:24 am


sky_rider19
alright I'm guessing the reactors are once per either player's turn right?
its the first of each depending on what reactor. I play a reactor deck.
Reply
TCG Rulings

 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum