Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply The Original Magic the Gathering Guild
ability question NEED HELP PLZ

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Phantom_Renegade

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 12:35 am


k i have a rule question concerning lurking informant, say a player tries to activate his ability, and i tap it before the ability resolves, can the opponent in response to me trying to tap it reactivate the ability to make it resolve and happen ???
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 4:38 am


No. Once the Informant becomes tapped, no matter how that is, the ability will not resolve. It is the same as tapping a creature between declare attackers and attack step. He tries to get the bility to resolve by declaring that it will become tapped and you then respond to it by tapping it, your tap will not let the ability resolve. Better?

MrVamp25

Witty Lunatic


Doji Tsuruko

5,350 Points
  • Forum Sophomore 300
  • Signature Look 250
  • Full closet 200
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 1:40 pm


MrVamp25
No. Once the Informant becomes tapped, no matter how that is, the ability will not resolve. It is the same as tapping a creature between declare attackers and attack step. He tries to get the bility to resolve by declaring that it will become tapped and you then respond to it by tapping it, your tap will not let the ability resolve. Better?


No, that's not right. Tapping the Informant to use its ability is part of the cost to play the ability. Tapping it in response to it activating is useless, since it becomes tapped when you pay the cost and the ability goes on the stack.  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 4:24 pm


Doji Tsuruko
MrVamp25
No. Once the Informant becomes tapped, no matter how that is, the ability will not resolve. It is the same as tapping a creature between declare attackers and attack step. He tries to get the bility to resolve by declaring that it will become tapped and you then respond to it by tapping it, your tap will not let the ability resolve. Better?


No, that's not right. Tapping the Informant to use its ability is part of the cost to play the ability. Tapping it in response to it activating is useless, since it becomes tapped when you pay the cost and the ability goes on the stack.


Yes, this is correct.

In future, there's actually a thread for rules questions...and that reduces clutter, which is a Good Thing(tm).

Tohma_Seguchi_San


Phantom_Renegade

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 5:41 pm


Tohma_Seguchi_San
Doji Tsuruko
MrVamp25
No. Once the Informant becomes tapped, no matter how that is, the ability will not resolve. It is the same as tapping a creature between declare attackers and attack step. He tries to get the bility to resolve by declaring that it will become tapped and you then respond to it by tapping it, your tap will not let the ability resolve. Better?


No, that's not right. Tapping the Informant to use its ability is part of the cost to play the ability. Tapping it in response to it activating is useless, since it becomes tapped when you pay the cost and the ability goes on the stack.


Yes, this is correct.

In future, there's actually a thread for rules questions...and that reduces clutter, which is a Good Thing(tm).


kk thanx for informing me, but before i let this thread die i must know, so if the ability is already annonced is there no way to stop it from happening ??? and if so, if i tap it before he ever announces trying to play the ability can he then use the ability beore my spell/ability that tries to tap him resloves
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 8:02 pm


Once the ability is on the stack, the only way to stop it from resolving is to use another spell or ability to counter it (for example, Stifle or Squelch).

If you attempt to tap the Informant with a spell or ability before your opponent has announced that he's going to activate it, he can activate it in response to your spell/ability that would tap it going on the stack, provided he can pay the activation cost.  

Doji Tsuruko

5,350 Points
  • Forum Sophomore 300
  • Signature Look 250
  • Full closet 200

Mikujin

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 8:54 pm


Doji Tsuruko
Once the ability is on the stack, the only way to stop it from resolving is to use another spell or ability to counter it (for example, Stifle or Squelch).

If you attempt to tap the Informant with a spell or ability before your opponent has announced that he's going to activate it, he can activate it in response to your spell/ability that would tap it going on the stack, provided he can pay the activation cost.


Basically, to stop a creature with a tap ability you need to do one of the following:
a) Tap it (and hope your opponent can't pay the activation cost in response, which is unlikely)
b) Counter the ability.
c) Kill the creature. Twice. What I mean is, target it with death, then when he activates that ability, kill it AGAIN. Your death spell will resolve (killing the creature) first, then when the creature's ability tries to resolve it goes "OMGWTFBBQ" and can't resolve properly. And then your wasted kill spell follows suit.

It's best to go with the bolded option because one of the others is a gamble, and the remaining is a waste of useful cards.
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 12:14 am


Mikujin
c) Kill the creature. Twice. What I mean is, target it with death, then when he activates that ability, kill it AGAIN. Your death spell will resolve (killing the creature) first, then when the creature's ability tries to resolve it goes "OMGWTFBBQ" and can't resolve properly. And then your wasted kill spell follows suit.


This only applies if the activated ability in question requires the creature to still be in play when the ability resolves.  

Doji Tsuruko

5,350 Points
  • Forum Sophomore 300
  • Signature Look 250
  • Full closet 200

Phantom_Renegade

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 12:41 pm


i would like to thank u guys for answering my question and for futue questions i will post them in the right place
Reply
The Original Magic the Gathering Guild

 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum