Takeda Keita
I am curios about rulings regarding the use of cards that are special summoned after your opponent declares an attack.
ie: A Hero Emerges, A Rival Appears, and even monsters such as the new Dark Neosphere
I have three specific questions that i wish to be answered:
After the card is special summoned, assuming your opponent was attacking you directly, does the monster attacking you attack the newly summoned monster? Or does the attack get negated and it then becomes your opponents choice to attack or not to attack?
The other ruling i was curios about pretained to flips that occur during your opponents battle phase.
ie: oppents attacks monster is flipped, but def too high to be destroyed.
Can your opponent activate Trap Hole on this def posistion card if it meets Trap Hole's conditions?
When a player attacks and the number of attack targets on the other player's field changes, a replay occurs. during a replay, the attacking player can then choose to attack a new target, attack the same target(if it still exists), or recall the attack. if the attack is recalled, that monster cannot attack again that same battle phase(unless it has multiple attacks). That monster is still considered to have attacked.
In your example, if a monster was summoned in response to a direct attack, the attacking player would have the option of attack ing the new target or recalling the attack.
Monsters that get attacked while set flip over at the start of the damage step. This is not a form of summoning so trap hole and bottomless trap hole cannot be played since they require the monster to be summoned in order to trigger.