|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Jun 06, 2009 5:28 am
Hmm...Sasha's excellent at stealth, but she's not too shabby at diplomacy and investigating either. Decisions, decisions....
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Jun 06, 2009 6:00 am
I can go either way.
though what language is the presentation being done in?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Jun 06, 2009 7:49 am
I fit the second mission's "parameters" more than the first, so I'll likely go with the second one.
And yes, pretty sure a second IC thread would be good for the missions, but no need for another OOC thread, sharing the one we have will still work fine.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Jun 06, 2009 11:36 am
Nightstriker what language is the presentation being done in? Skytongue, though you can assume they have enough translators on hand to cover any other languages.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 12:18 am
Since we haven't heard from Cogwheel in a while, I fear we may have lost her.
In that case, Valis and Akhil would be the two characters most capable of recruiting Aparna.
And to that end, I'd be willing to let Valis switch from Low Realm to Riverspeak. It was technically my fault for not catching that before the story began, so we could pretend he always spoke the native tongue of Nexus. And if not, Aparna might have traded with Realm patricians enough to have learned Low Realm.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 5:55 am
I'd be just fine with having Riverspeak instead of Low. I'd forgot what Nexus used as native, and I see I guessed wrong that it was Low Realm.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 10:33 am
Sprainogre and GS Sailor Saturn, on the whole I know that you two are correct about any essence user being able to attune to an artifact. Though I do not know of any place where it says that someone needs to make some kind of roll to attune to an artifact, regardless of what kind of materials it is. If there is some kind of page refrence, I would love to see it.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 10:46 am
I know there's something in the equipment section about it attuning to artifacts of the wrong magical material. I think that's the default for anyone who's not an Exalt attempting to attune. Might not be for gods though. I'd probably have to check the book of divinity...
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 11:36 am
That's a first edition rule, the need to make a roll to attune to the wrong material. Not certain if it still applies in the second edition.
It STILL costs twice to attune to the wrong material if you are an Exalt of the wrong type (Lunars pay double to attune to anything but Moonsilver, found the reference in the Lunar tome). I'm pretty sure that a non-exalt but still greater than mortal being (read god-blood and high essence wyld barbarians and such) likely would need a roll to attune to the five magical materials.
Edit: Another mention I read is that god-bloods can attune to artifacts, but cannot gain the magical material bonus. No mention of a roll or anything else was included in the line.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 11:45 am
Oh I do know that it costs double to attune to an artifact that is made up of a material that is not yours. Though I do know that there is a bit of wiggle room in this when talking about artifacts that are not purely made of one type of material, like the Lightning Torment Hatchets, and other artifacts that are made up of multiple types of magical materials.
The down side to such artifacts is that they do not gain any type of magical material bonuses.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 4:34 pm
As I posted in an OOC comment in the IC thread: Any exalt can pay the cost to attune to an item made from one of the five magical materials and use it. However, if you want to get the magical material bonus from the 'wrong' material, you must pay double the usual cost, and make a Wits + Lore roll at difficulty 3. Failure causes you unsoakable lethal damage and destroys any Hearthstones in the item (which will then refom back at the manse as normal). A botch also damages or destroys the item.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 8:23 pm
Cool...where in the various 2nd ed books dose it say that is the rule Sailor? I want a book and a page reference.
If it is not any ware in the books, unless our GM says otherwise they are not the rules when talking about attunement.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:03 am
Nightstriker Cool...where in the various 2nd ed books dose it say that is the rule Sailor? I want a book and a page reference. If it is not any ware in the books, unless our GM says otherwise they are not the rules when talking about attunement. Exalted core book, page 382, in the box at the top of the page entitled "Items of the Wrong Material"
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Jun 13, 2009 7:21 am
Case closed!
Moral lesson: Do not carry over-sized sharpened spatulas of the wrong material!
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:09 pm
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
|
|