Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply The Original Magic the Gathering Guild
rule questions Goto Page: [] [<] 1 2 3 ... 4 5 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

foils

Invisible Noob

PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2005 11:32 am


-erm.? 2 yrs.? sweatdrop
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 7:02 am


rin1-tin2-tin3
like if i play pull under(-5/-5 until end of turn) on a 3/3 or something. would it die even though its just until end of turn?
Yep, that0s what the -X/-X cards are about. Not just to tka less damage from an opponent. As a note, it's one way to get rid of indestrutible creatures.

I have an question myself, what happens when you accidentally targeted a permanent with a spell that can't do it? For example, a friend tried to Terror a enchanmet once because he thought it was a creature. We've always played that he wasted his spell and it goes to the graveyard but, a friend now claims that the spell goes back to his hand but, since he already generated the mana, unless the player uses it for something it'll mana-burn him.

japoniano


wellwisher

PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 8:38 am


if the enchantment says that it is a creature. then it can be destroyed as a creature. and it isn't possible to target something that can't be targetable. so then it really is up to oyu. as to what rules you choose to use. it could fizzle and just not work because it can't target the targeted permenant. you could use the rules that it just doesn't work because it can't be targeted and the spell is returned to that players hand. it really is up to the players. you could just fix this problem by thinking about what moves you are gonna make. stare
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 9:14 am


wellwisher
it could fizzle and just not work because it can't target the targeted permenant. you could use the rules that it just doesn't work because it can't be targeted and the spell is returned to that players hand. it really is up to the players. you could just fix this problem by thinking about what moves you are gonna make. stare
So, in the end it's up to the players? What is the official tournament rule about it then?

japoniano


wellwisher

PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 9:21 am


japoniano
wellwisher
it could fizzle and just not work because it can't target the targeted permenant. you could use the rules that it just doesn't work because it can't be targeted and the spell is returned to that players hand. it really is up to the players. you could just fix this problem by thinking about what moves you are gonna make. stare
So, in the end it's up to the players? What is the official tournament rule about it then?
Quote:
http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=magic/rules/tourneyplayer
here try this for finding stuff out
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 11:54 am


wellwisher
japoniano
wellwisher
it could fizzle and just not work because it can't target the targeted permenant. you could use the rules that it just doesn't work because it can't be targeted and the spell is returned to that players hand. it really is up to the players. you could just fix this problem by thinking about what moves you are gonna make. stare
So, in the end it's up to the players? What is the official tournament rule about it then?
Quote:
http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=magic/rules/tourneyplayer
here try this for finding stuff out


-hmm...weird. sweatdrop

foils

Invisible Noob


wellwisher

PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 4:51 pm


i actually have a question (weird usually i answer them) ok. if my opponent targets one of my enchantments that is at the moment a creature and he usees a destroy creature card. and i can pay 0 to turn it back into an enchantment. is it destroyed if it is an enchantment and was targeted by a creature destroy card, when it was a creature during the targeting process. i know this sounds familiar to one of the questions that i answered but it is very different
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 5:03 pm


wellwisher
i actually have a question (weird usually i answer them) ok. if my opponent targets one of my enchantments that is at the moment a creature and he usees a destroy creature card. and i can pay 0 to turn it back into an enchantment. is it destroyed if it is an enchantment and was targeted by a creature destroy card, when it was a creature during the targeting process. i know this sounds familiar to one of the questions that i answered but it is very different

sounds like a stack issue. technicaly creatures actavated ablities can be actavated as though they are instances. so it turns back into a enchantment before the spell resolves and is invalid.

Mad Hatt3r

High-functioning Phantom


wellwisher

PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 5:07 pm


rin1-tin2-tin3
wellwisher
i actually have a question (weird usually i answer them) ok. if my opponent targets one of my enchantments that is at the moment a creature and he usees a destroy creature card. and i can pay 0 to turn it back into an enchantment. is it destroyed if it is an enchantment and was targeted by a creature destroy card, when it was a creature during the targeting process. i know this sounds familiar to one of the questions that i answered but it is very different

sounds like a stack issue. technicaly creatures actavated ablities can be actavated as though they are instances. so it turns back into a enchantment before the spell resolves and is invalid.
i know but it was a creature before the spell was activated and it was an instant. so i see what you mean but it doesn't seem to fit some of the rules. so i would like some other imput. you know just in case. he did cheat and win because of it
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005 10:37 pm


wellwisher
rin1-tin2-tin3
wellwisher
i actually have a question (weird usually i answer them) ok. if my opponent targets one of my enchantments that is at the moment a creature and he usees a destroy creature card. and i can pay 0 to turn it back into an enchantment. is it destroyed if it is an enchantment and was targeted by a creature destroy card, when it was a creature during the targeting process. i know this sounds familiar to one of the questions that i answered but it is very different

sounds like a stack issue. technicaly creatures actavated ablities can be actavated as though they are instances. so it turns back into a enchantment before the spell resolves and is invalid.
i know but it was a creature before the spell was activated and it was an instant. so i see what you mean but it doesn't seem to fit some of the rules. so i would like some other imput. you know just in case. he did cheat and win because of it


-tell me the card's and
i'll be the judge.
3nodding

foils

Invisible Noob


Reisen

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 12:42 am


wellwisher
rin1-tin2-tin3
wellwisher
i actually have a question (weird usually i answer them) ok. if my opponent targets one of my enchantments that is at the moment a creature and he usees a destroy creature card. and i can pay 0 to turn it back into an enchantment. is it destroyed if it is an enchantment and was targeted by a creature destroy card, when it was a creature during the targeting process. i know this sounds familiar to one of the questions that i answered but it is very different

sounds like a stack issue. technicaly creatures actavated ablities can be actavated as though they are instances. so it turns back into a enchantment before the spell resolves and is invalid.
i know but it was a creature before the spell was activated and it was an instant. so i see what you mean but it doesn't seem to fit some of the rules. so i would like some other imput. you know just in case. he did cheat and win because of it

The legality of targets is checked twice: once upon casting the spell and once upon its resolution. When the creature-killing spell resolves, it sees that the creature is no longer a creature and fizzles.

And yes, as long as the ability that turns it back into a creature is at instant speed (which it will be unless it says it is not) then it will be an enchantment before the kill spell resolves.

-Reisen
PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 1:50 am


Reisen
wellwisher
rin1-tin2-tin3
wellwisher
i actually have a question (weird usually i answer them) ok. if my opponent targets one of my enchantments that is at the moment a creature and he usees a destroy creature card. and i can pay 0 to turn it back into an enchantment. is it destroyed if it is an enchantment and was targeted by a creature destroy card, when it was a creature during the targeting process. i know this sounds familiar to one of the questions that i answered but it is very different

sounds like a stack issue. technicaly creatures actavated ablities can be actavated as though they are instances. so it turns back into a enchantment before the spell resolves and is invalid.
i know but it was a creature before the spell was activated and it was an instant. so i see what you mean but it doesn't seem to fit some of the rules. so i would like some other imput. you know just in case. he did cheat and win because of it

The legality of targets is checked twice: once upon casting the spell and once upon its resolution. When the creature-killing spell resolves, it sees that the creature is no longer a creature and fizzles.

And yes, as long as the ability that turns it back into a creature is at instant speed (which it will be unless it says it is not) then it will be an enchantment before the kill spell resolves.

-Reisen


-heh. decent. 3nodding

foils

Invisible Noob


InfernalPenguin

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 4:57 pm


its all about the stack. noobs have a hard time grasping it but when u learn how to use it... it can be a lot of fun.....
PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2005 10:41 pm


InfernalPenguin
its all about the stack. noobs have a hard time grasping it but when u learn how to use it... it can be a lot of fun.....


-use it!!? use the stack.? u mean't
basic understandin'.?
sweatdrop

foils

Invisible Noob


InfernalPenguin

PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2005 2:09 pm


1313.EXE
InfernalPenguin
its all about the stack. noobs have a hard time grasping it but when u learn how to use it... it can be a lot of fun.....


-use it!!? use the stack.? u mean't
basic understandin'.?
sweatdrop

yeah use the stack. it creates fun things to do to people. like earlier something about an enchantment was mentioned... yeah u need to understand it, but if u learn how to use it bk and bu just became ur new best friends
Reply
The Original Magic the Gathering Guild

Goto Page: [] [<] 1 2 3 ... 4 5 [>] [»|]
 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum