Welcome to Gaia! ::

Yu-Gi-Oh! Duellists of Gaia

Back to Guilds

YDoG is an all TCG guild for all duellists. We also cover the entire Yu-Gi-Oh! games, shows, manga and RPG. 

Tags: Yugioh, Tournament, Duel, Trading Card Game, Anime 

Reply Deck Database
New Fortune Lady Deck Goto Page: [] [<] 1 2 3 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

ganchroi

Benevolent Lunatic

13,150 Points
  • Noble Shade 100
  • Partygoer 500
  • Lavish Tipper 200
PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 4:52 pm


Superonimalco
ganchroi
Superonimalco
So much for option one, but eh. And straight flush is very good. I have silenced some duelists with that card alone and some of their strategies went downhill. Course, you would have to be real lucky to use that card in case you wanna take out some of their good cards.


that's fair enough razz I'm gonna try cut the deck down though ike you said, not add more to it >_<
At any rate, think of Straight Flush as a luck card. If an opponent has what he needs one the field and he either doesnt use them, or when he does use them, think of it as like a clean sweep for your monsters to get a clear shot in case you not only clear out his monsters. Course, any trap silencing card can pose a problem.


Of course >_< and I'm now a bit bummed about magical dimension crying but how and ever I'll fix it up real goood razz
PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 4:57 pm


ganchroi
Superonimalco
ganchroi
Superonimalco
So much for option one, but eh. And straight flush is very good. I have silenced some duelists with that card alone and some of their strategies went downhill. Course, you would have to be real lucky to use that card in case you wanna take out some of their good cards.


that's fair enough razz I'm gonna try cut the deck down though ike you said, not add more to it >_<
At any rate, think of Straight Flush as a luck card. If an opponent has what he needs one the field and he either doesnt use them, or when he does use them, think of it as like a clean sweep for your monsters to get a clear shot in case you not only clear out his monsters. Course, any trap silencing card can pose a problem.


Of course >_< and I'm now a bit bummed about magical dimension crying but how and ever I'll fix it up real goood razz
Im certain you can pull it off. I wish I could say the same about my four decks in which certain people said it definitely was not tournament worthy or pro-status. But quite honestly, I play how I want. True it does need to be patched; but when it comes to choices, its really hard to decide. Which reminds me......I have yet to update the watts, I have changed somethings with it.

Superonimalco


ganchroi

Benevolent Lunatic

13,150 Points
  • Noble Shade 100
  • Partygoer 500
  • Lavish Tipper 200
PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 4:59 pm


Superonimalco
ganchroi
Superonimalco
ganchroi
Superonimalco
So much for option one, but eh. And straight flush is very good. I have silenced some duelists with that card alone and some of their strategies went downhill. Course, you would have to be real lucky to use that card in case you wanna take out some of their good cards.


that's fair enough razz I'm gonna try cut the deck down though ike you said, not add more to it >_<
At any rate, think of Straight Flush as a luck card. If an opponent has what he needs one the field and he either doesnt use them, or when he does use them, think of it as like a clean sweep for your monsters to get a clear shot in case you not only clear out his monsters. Course, any trap silencing card can pose a problem.


Of course >_< and I'm now a bit bummed about magical dimension crying but how and ever I'll fix it up real goood razz
Im certain you can pull it off. I wish I could say the same about my four decks in which certain people said it definitely was not tournament worthy or pro-status. But quite honestly, I play how I want. True it does need to be patched; but when it comes to choices, its really hard to decide. Which reminds me......I have yet to update the watts, I have changed somethings with it.


watts are awesome ^_^ and ty for believing in me ^_^ I'll try hard biggrin but my naturias are annoying razz they kicked a** today against a few of my mates ^_^
PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 5:07 pm


Anytime. If you want to take a look see at what decks I use, look for, "Introducing, Supers 4 decks" and you'll see the updates I put in it.

Superonimalco


Scent of a Dahlia

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 12:00 pm


axean
Scent of a Dahlia
axean
Umm, DD Sprite and Birdman are for triggering Light's effect
fortune lady light would not activate if banished for dd sprite or genex ally birdman. it would miss the timing because banishing fortune lady light is not the last event to occur, it is the summon of either monster. "when - can" terminology.


no, she gets her effect. the only time she doesn't is when you choose to destroy a monster with magical dimension, compulsed while face down or use her with wonder wand. she also wont activate if she's removed from the field while a chain is going on.
i dont know who ruled this for you, but it is incorrect. a monster with the "when-can" keywords do not activate their effect if anything transpires after that monster meets its requirement without chain.

for example, peten the dark clown cannot activate its effect when used for a tribute summon or synchro summon, because the last thing to happen was not peten being sent to the graveyard, it was placement of the successfully summoned monster onto the field. effects that would resolve multiple effects in the same chain link, for example light and darkness dragon and ryko, lightsworn hunter, would also cause the "when-can" keyword cards to miss timing, if their requirement doesnt take place at the end of that resolution.

dd sprite and genex ally birdman are both scenario 1; the summons do not start or go on chain, and their summons both transpire immediately after the activation time for fortune lady light, missing the opportunity. had this not been the case, fortune lady light would still not activate, because her requirement specifically states when she is removed by a card effect. removal for either of the two summons is cost for the summon, and fortune lady light will not activate.
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2011 12:28 pm


Scent of a Dahlia
axean
Scent of a Dahlia
axean
Umm, DD Sprite and Birdman are for triggering Light's effect
fortune lady light would not activate if banished for dd sprite or genex ally birdman. it would miss the timing because banishing fortune lady light is not the last event to occur, it is the summon of either monster. "when - can" terminology.


no, she gets her effect. the only time she doesn't is when you choose to destroy a monster with magical dimension, compulsed while face down or use her with wonder wand. she also wont activate if she's removed from the field while a chain is going on.
i dont know who ruled this for you, but it is incorrect. a monster with the "when-can" keywords do not activate their effect if anything transpires after that monster meets its requirement without chain.

for example, peten the dark clown cannot activate its effect when used for a tribute summon or synchro summon, because the last thing to happen was not peten being sent to the graveyard, it was placement of the successfully summoned monster onto the field. effects that would resolve multiple effects in the same chain link, for example light and darkness dragon and ryko, lightsworn hunter, would also cause the "when-can" keyword cards to miss timing, if their requirement doesnt take place at the end of that resolution.

dd sprite and genex ally birdman are both scenario 1; the summons do not start or go on chain, and their summons both transpire immediately after the activation time for fortune lady light, missing the opportunity. had this not been the case, fortune lady light would still not activate, because her requirement specifically states when she is removed by a card effect. removal for either of the two summons is cost for the summon, and fortune lady light will not activate.


so basically you told me what i already know, except with the added bonus of DD Sprite and Genex Ally Birdman being a summoning cost, not an effect. rolleyes i was simply misinformed about DD Sprite and Birdman.

Had they been effects, she would surely get hers, for she does get her effect with magical dimension, even though the last thing to happen is the summon of a monster.


oucyan


Lavish Demigod

32,400 Points
  • Tax Evader 100
  • Millionaire 200
  • Invisibility 100

Scent of a Dahlia

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 12:37 pm


axean
Scent of a Dahlia
axean
Scent of a Dahlia
axean
Umm, DD Sprite and Birdman are for triggering Light's effect
fortune lady light would not activate if banished for dd sprite or genex ally birdman. it would miss the timing because banishing fortune lady light is not the last event to occur, it is the summon of either monster. "when - can" terminology.


no, she gets her effect. the only time she doesn't is when you choose to destroy a monster with magical dimension, compulsed while face down or use her with wonder wand. she also wont activate if she's removed from the field while a chain is going on.
i dont know who ruled this for you, but it is incorrect. a monster with the "when-can" keywords do not activate their effect if anything transpires after that monster meets its requirement without chain.

for example, peten the dark clown cannot activate its effect when used for a tribute summon or synchro summon, because the last thing to happen was not peten being sent to the graveyard, it was placement of the successfully summoned monster onto the field. effects that would resolve multiple effects in the same chain link, for example light and darkness dragon and ryko, lightsworn hunter, would also cause the "when-can" keyword cards to miss timing, if their requirement doesnt take place at the end of that resolution.

dd sprite and genex ally birdman are both scenario 1; the summons do not start or go on chain, and their summons both transpire immediately after the activation time for fortune lady light, missing the opportunity. had this not been the case, fortune lady light would still not activate, because her requirement specifically states when she is removed by a card effect. removal for either of the two summons is cost for the summon, and fortune lady light will not activate.


so basically you told me what i already know, except with the added bonus of DD Sprite and Genex Ally Birdman being a summoning cost, not an effect. rolleyes i was simply misinformed about DD Sprite and Birdman.

Had they been effects, she would surely get hers, for she does get her effect with magical dimension, even though the last thing to happen is the summon of a monster.
excuse me, im only trying to explain that you have been misinformed, so that you and the op would not make any more mistakes. i would appreciate if you didn't make any more rude gestures towards me.

you also say im telling you all of what you already know, but deny any truth to it. i cannot understand both being possible; either you know how the "when-can" terminology works, or you dont.

cards with the "when-can" terms, such as fortune ladies and peten the dark clown, do not activate their effects if anything transpires after meeting their requirement without chain, thats as simple as the definition gets. no, fortune lady light would not work had genex ally birdman and dd sprite banish her by effect, nor does fortune lady light activate when used as tribute through magical dimension. i have two documented rulings to explain the latter, one of which using magical dimension itself.


magical dimension rulings
• Fortune Lady Water: If you Special Summon "Fortune Lady Water" with "Magical Dimension" and then destroy the only other "Fortune Lady" monster you control, you cannot activate the effect of "Fortune Lady Water".


here we have the example of magical dimension, where in place of fortune lady light, we have fortune lady water, and fortune lady water misses the timing because the effects of magical dimension are fully resolved first, missing the opportunity when fortune lady water is able to activate her own effect. the same would apply to fortune lady light; you immediately resolve all effects of magical dimension, first tribute and then special summon. the tribute of fortune lady light was not the last to occur, it was the special summon. the only way to gain the effect of fortune lady light through magical dimension is to in fact destroy it with the optional effect at resolution.

peten the dark clown rulings
• When "Light and Darkness Dragon" is sent to the Graveyard and its effect activates, you first destroy all cards, and then you Special Summon the monster. Because of this, you cannot activate the effects of "Peten the Dark Clown"/"Infernal Dragon"/etc, since you miss the timing


and here is a ruling on peten the dark clown, one of the first "when-can" term cards released to us, demonstrating that it misses the timing upon resolving the effect of light and darkness dragon, upon it being sent to the graveyard. fortune lady light is exactly the same; in the case of magical dimension, you simply swap words around. fortune lady light is "tributed", not "destroyed", and the monster is then special summoned. since the effects are still one full resolution, fortune lady light misses the timing, because it is fortune lady lights requirement has already passed by.

im going to request again, before you reply, that you please leave any rude gestures and language out of this discussion; such behavior is not needed of a vice captain. im only making the effort to correct and educate you where you are mistaken. thank you for your understanding.
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 1:47 pm


Scent of a Dahlia


first of all, i apologize if i offended you with the roll eyes gesture. I didn't mean to use it as an insult.

secondly, you are incorrect. if you read carefully, it says in the fortune lady water ruling, that if you destroy the only other fortune lady monster you control, you miss the timing.

it says nothing about if you don't destroy a monster. Although you are possibly right about DD Sprite and Genex Ally Birdman, I know, for a fact, you are wrong about magical dimension. You only miss fortune lady light's timing with magical dimension if you choose to destroy a monster. I know this because it's the same with Dark Magican of Chaos. When he is special summoned by the effect of magical dimension, he misses his timing to return a spell from the graveyard to the hand only when you choose to destroy a monster with magical dimension.

Furthermore, Fortune lady light's effect states that when she is removed from the field by a card effect. This includes tributes done on resolution by card effects. She won't activate if tributed as a cost, but she will indeed activate on cards like share the pain and magical dimension. the tributing of a monster by magical dimension is not a cost, the cost is the activation requirement of controlling a spellcaster.


oucyan


Lavish Demigod

32,400 Points
  • Tax Evader 100
  • Millionaire 200
  • Invisibility 100

Scent of a Dahlia

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 2:38 pm


axean
Scent of a Dahlia


first of all, i apologize if i offended you with the roll eyes gesture. I didn't mean to use it as an insult.

secondly, you are incorrect. if you read carefully, it says in the fortune lady water ruling, that if you destroy the only other fortune lady monster you control, you miss the timing.

it says nothing about if you don't destroy a monster. Although you are possibly right about DD Sprite and Genex Ally Birdman, I know, for a fact, you are wrong about magical dimension. You only miss fortune lady light's timing with magical dimension if you choose to destroy a monster. I know this because it's the same with Dark Magican of Chaos. When he is special summoned by the effect of magical dimension, he misses his timing to return a spell from the graveyard to the hand only when you choose to destroy a monster with magical dimension.

Furthermore, Fortune lady light's effect states that when she is removed from the field by a card effect. This includes tributes done on resolution by card effects. She won't activate if tributed as a cost, but she will indeed activate on cards like share the pain and magical dimension. the tributing of a monster by magical dimension is not a cost, the cost is the activation requirement of controlling a spellcaster.
i apologize for the inaccuracies on the ruling of magical dimension vs fortune lady water. fortune lady waters effect to draw 2 cards is mandatory, and therefore has no bearing on the "when-can" terms. however, your continuing argument that fortune lady light works with magical dimension is still flawed, as its requirement is not at the end of the resolution for magical dimension, regardless whether or not you choose to use the optional effect. it all happens in the same resolution, including the optional monster destruction. if you are to argue that fortune lady light still activates when tributed through magical dimension, it would be more appropriate to say that she would also activate with the optional effect as well.

regardless, it was not so much the first ruling i wanted to demonstrate, it was the second of light and darkness dragon vs peten the dark clown. in this scenario, we can depict the same play as we would with magical dimension and fortune lady light.

light and darkness dragon activates > destroy all cards on your field (including peten), special summon a monster from your graveyard.

magical dimension activates > tribute fortune lady light, special summon a spellcaster from your hand.

in the first, peten the dark clown doesnt activate, because it has missed the timing.

i don't see how you are arguing that two monsters with the same terms work differently under the same circumstances. both are "when-can", and both leave the field at the beginning of resolution to an effect with multiple steps to it, and both effects are worded the same, separated by "and".

light and darkness dragon: then destroy all cards you control, and special summon that monster.

magical dimension: tribute 1 monster and special summon 1 spellcaster-type monster from your hand.

if you do know for a fact that it does work, i would prefer to see some documented source. for now im obligated to stand by the rulings we have for this terminology that i had presented.
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 2:51 pm


to further this to an end, i had noticed under one past ruling of peten the dark clown during upperdeck entertainment, that it can and does activate its effect during an effects resolution that is done simultaneously.

in leniency of this, i decided to search more on the matter to see if magical dimension resolves the tribute and special summon at the same exact time, which would allow fortune lady light to activate regardless. this makes sense to axeans idea of how the card works, explaining why fortune lady light only misses the timing if you choose to destroy a monster.

that is no longer the case. kevin tewarts problem-solving card text. upon reviewing this article, magical dimension was specifically used as an example, and the effect was revised to read, "If you control a face-up Spellcaster-Type monster: Target 1 monster; Tribute it, then Special Summon 1 Spellcaster-Type monster from your hand, then you can destroy 1 monster on the field." this demonstrates clearly that none of the three effects are performed simultaneously, and it is done so step after step.

fortune lady light does not activate when tributed for the effect of magical dimension.

Scent of a Dahlia



oucyan


Lavish Demigod

32,400 Points
  • Tax Evader 100
  • Millionaire 200
  • Invisibility 100
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 3:38 pm


Scent of a Dahlia
to further this to an end, i had noticed under one past ruling of peten the dark clown during upperdeck entertainment, that it can and does activate its effect during an effects resolution that is done simultaneously.

in leniency of this, i decided to search more on the matter to see if magical dimension resolves the tribute and special summon at the same exact time, which would allow fortune lady light to activate regardless. this makes sense to axeans idea of how the card works, explaining why fortune lady light only misses the timing if you choose to destroy a monster.

that is no longer the case. kevin tewarts problem-solving card text. upon reviewing this article, magical dimension was specifically used as an example, and the effect was revised to read, "If you control a face-up Spellcaster-Type monster: Target 1 monster; Tribute it, then Special Summon 1 Spellcaster-Type monster from your hand, then you can destroy 1 monster on the field." this demonstrates clearly that none of the three effects are performed simultaneously, and it is done so step after step.

fortune lady light does not activate when tributed for the effect of magical dimension.


http://www.yugiohforums.com/showthread.php?t=40998

http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread.php?t=738687

and i can also get you the email of my locals head judge, Joe Frankino, if you want. He has judged at Nationals several times and is the reason i believe fortune lady light gets her effect when tributed by magical dimension.
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 3:45 pm


Sheesh, is this a war to see whose right and whose not? sweatdrop

Superonimalco


Scent of a Dahlia

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 3:59 pm


axean
http://www.yugiohforums.com/showthread.php?t=40998

http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread.php?t=738687

and i can also get you the email of my locals head judge, Joe Frankino, if you want. He has judged at Nationals several times and is the reason i believe fortune lady light gets her effect when tributed by magical dimension.
discussion threads arent sources, theyre discussion. not only that, both threads have their decisions based on magical dimension being previously determined that the tribute and special summon occur simultaneously, in tcg areas only no less. however as i had shown you just now, magical dimension is to follow new text which explains otherwise; with kevin tewart even saying which part of the effect is last to resolve, and so the ruling is to be updated as well.

an e-mail also isnt documentation, and if he has based this ruling in the same recency as the threads you have provided, he should review what kevin tewart is saying and should determine the ruling that way. as far as gameplay is concerned, what tewart says far outranks a judges experience.
PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 4:02 pm


Scent of a Dahlia
axean
http://www.yugiohforums.com/showthread.php?t=40998

http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread.php?t=738687

and i can also get you the email of my locals head judge, Joe Frankino, if you want. He has judged at Nationals several times and is the reason i believe fortune lady light gets her effect when tributed by magical dimension.
discussion threads arent sources, theyre discussion. not only that, both threads have their decisions based on magical dimension being previously determined that the tribute and special summon occur simultaneously, in tcg areas only no less. however as i had shown you just now, magical dimension is to follow new text which explains otherwise; with kevin tewart even saying which part of the effect is last to resolve, and so the ruling is to be updated as well.

an e-mail also isnt documentation, and if he has based this ruling in the same recency as the threads you have provided, he should review what kevin tewart is saying and should determine the ruling that way. as far as gameplay is concerned, what tewart says far outranks a judges experience.


I'm just posting what currently is. As there is no documentation on the exact scenario, we have to go by current rulings. Until the ruling is official changed for the new way card text is stated, Magical dimension gives fortune lady light her effect. I'm not saying you don't make sense, infact, in the OCG, fortune lady light does not get her effect with magical dimension, but right now, for the TCG, you are wrong.


oucyan


Lavish Demigod

32,400 Points
  • Tax Evader 100
  • Millionaire 200
  • Invisibility 100

Space Toad -B

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 6:58 pm


Magical Dimension's new wording has already been printed and released in Turbo Pack 6, putting into effect the step-by-step resolution. Activating Fortune Lady Light's effect as the Tribute was viable, but is no longer possible.

Dahlia is right.
Reply
Deck Database

Goto Page: [] [<] 1 2 3 [>] [»|]
 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum