Welcome to Gaia! ::

~ Midnight Moon ~

Back to Guilds

~ for pagans, wiccans and witches ~ 

Tags: wiccan, witchcraft, paganism, wicca, heathenry 

Reply *~Forum~* (general discussion/questions)
Clio: the muse of History

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

RedHairjoe

2,650 Points
  • Gaian 50
  • Member 100
  • Dressed Up 200
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 4:14 pm
Earlier this year I had a college class pertaining to Ancient and Medieval History. One of the chapters we covered was ancient Greek and Hellenistic religion/culture. We covered the muses, figures with an attachment/association with certain areas of the arts (music, dance, poetry etc. etc. etc.) One of the muses was the Muse of History named Clio and I felt a strong connection to her...mostly because I'm majoring in history, plan on being a history teacher and have informally called myself a "historian" for most of my young life.

I instantly felt a strong connection with her and consider her a "patron" of sorts because of my passion of history and my future ambitions. I haven't been able to find much information on her (or a little statue I could buy for my altar lol) and was wondering if anyone here had any information they could pass along on Clio or of any similar topics.  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:09 pm
Well here's some info on her  

X-Yami-no-Ko-X

Hallowed Prophet

11,850 Points
  • Friendly 100
  • Survivor 150
  • Timid 100

RedHairjoe

2,650 Points
  • Gaian 50
  • Member 100
  • Dressed Up 200
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:37 pm

thanks, its a start! Since she's a lower class religious figure (in comparison to zeus, hades etc. not trying to demean her or anyone else) I didn't expect to get to much in depth information.

I still would like to get her into my own "pantheon" so to speak and expand my religious circle, this seems to be a good start to it.

smile  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 6:23 pm
caesar821