Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

IkaruTiger

550 Points
  • Statustician 100
  • Member 100
  • Dressed Up 200
PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 3:42 pm
Hey all, I am a voice student in college. What kind of vocal experimentation and styles have you all tried, and what did you like?

I have made all kinds of strange sounds and played around to find out where I can place my voice, and even pushed my limits dynamically and range wise. Stylistically, I have done jazz, broadway, rock, classical, country, vaudville, ect. I think my favorite currently is going to have to be musical theatre. It is different from classical in that you do not use full operetic voice, but you utilize a common technique with all sorts of experimentation involved.  
PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 10:11 am
I focus mainly on classical/operatic singing, and I do a good bit of musical theatre, but I have tried jazz, pop/rock, and overtone/throat singing. I'd like to experiment more with Eastern methods of singing, studying the style and modes they use. I think it's important to understand all aspects of what the voice can do.

Overtone/Throat Singing

Throat Singing in a more secular (slightly cheesy) context  

Ryoukai

6,550 Points
  • Nudist Colony 200
  • The Perfect Setup 150
  • Prayer Circle 200

Meeatu

5,250 Points
  • Forum Sophomore 300
  • Forum Regular 100
  • First step to fame 200
PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2010 12:55 am
I started singing jazz, rather poorly and without anywhere near enough training, I might add.

But since I have been being tutored a little more, and had more time to experiment, I took a quick peek into throat singing, which lead me into the realms of death metal (believe it or not, correctly done, the two styles have many similarities)  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:00 am
I've been studying opera since I first started singing smile however, I am being forced to learn musical theatre and pop for solo assignments at school...