Welcome to Gaia! ::

The Barely-Knowns

Back to Guilds

A guild for all who are just faces in the Gaia crowd. 

Tags: barely, known, unknown, chill, ninja 

Reply The Barely-Knowns
Wait, don't you know me at all?!

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Oh, look, a poll!
  Clicky clicky.
View Results

Meacorme
Vice Captain

PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2012 2:42 pm
Been a while since I posted a topic. Here's a recent story for y'all.

I recently emailed a former professor of mine who I had worked with for all four years of college. For those four years (plus the first year after I graduated), he was the most supportive teacher of my acting career. He encouraged me through acting and show biz classes, gave me tips on what I should be doing, complimented me, challenged me, and even told me I was like a "young Madeline Kahn" (one of the biggest compliments I'd ever received). In as recently as FEBRUARY, I went to dinner with him and we talked about acting and theatre.

So I figured he was an ideal choice to ask if I should consider going to grad school for an MFA in Acting, since I feel a bit stuck.

...He told me that I should perhaps get an MFA in Arts Administration.

...WAIT, WHAT. It's like he doesn't know me at all! It's like he doesn't remember how ardently I love acting. It's like he doesn't remember all the work we put into it. It's like he doesn't realize how much I wither when I'm backstage or behind the scenes and how I thrive when I am performing onstage.

I know he had the best of intentions, but I am so confused and a bit hurt. It scares me. Why does he think I shouldn't keep going for acting? That's the burning, awful question.

YES, THERE IS A DISCUSSION.

Has anyone you really trusted you surprised in some way, good or bad?
What is the best advice you have ever received career wise?
Worst advice?
Would you consider making a big career change at this point?