Welcome to Gaia! ::

Half way through writing up this thread I got the feeling I had written before....

You did. Good job on failing. 0.31707317073171 31.7% [ 13 ]
If you did, I didn't see it... 0.68292682926829 68.3% [ 28 ]
Total Votes:[ 41 ]
1 2 >

Far be it for me to question the wisdom of the devs on a game I've never tried before, but I can't help feeling this sense of dread when I think about when Q said that various rings will grant each other bonuses like equipment sets in so many other MMOs.

Now while I appreciate that this encourages character diversity so not everyone has the exact same rings equipped, neglecting all others, till the next update attempts to re-balance and never perfectly does so. It also seems to me that it would encourage "cookie cutter build" mentality.

Quote:
This ring goes best with this ring, and if you equip otherwise you'll suck and no one will want to play with you.

Quote:
NEVER EVER equip these two rings together, you'll just look like a stupid nub.

Quote:
LULZ Did you see that guy's ring setup? What a stupid n00b!

Which, while "cookie cutters" mean diversity and everyone having a job to preform in their party, limits a player's creative freedom.

Which is a huge part of Gaia!

I mean if some one wants to cosplay a famous videogame character. User Image

and then wants to continue that cosplay by equipping say... A hammer and a fireball ring?

Will they get away with it with out being jeered and boo-ed by other players?

It seems like this ring set bonuses thing would inhibit that freedom.

This is all just a giant thread of idle preponderance and baseless speculation made purely out of a desire to breath new life into this forum. I have no idea how these bonuses are going to work. Hell I have no idea how rings themselves are really going to pan out when it comes to those annoying little details.

I'm just offering an idea on how things might go awry and requesting thoughts on how the devs might counter this.