Welcome to Gaia! ::

Dapper Prophet

User Image
Welcome to this makeshift little writing shop.

Basically, I'm questing for a few items and thought this might be a good way to make a little gold, since I spend most of my time writing anyway. So, without further ado...

ME:

I'm a student with too much time on her hands over the summer and seven years of writing experience. I've had two short stories published and three others have placed in state-wide competitions. I wrote my first (very bad) novel when I was twelve and am in the process of rewriting another that has been in and out of revisions for four years.

SAMPLES:

SETTING
The front room wasn’t large, but lavishly decorated with swathes of cream and sea foam silk. Chaises were scattered around, heavy with embroidered throw pillows. An antique grand piano sat in the corner, the bench behind it covered in ancient yellowed sheet music, original drafts of Bach and Mozart. The walls and floor were chipped from crystal, some parts opaque and others clear enough to see the river rumbling past. Far away above were pinpricks of light ghosting down from the city.

CHARACTER
He stood uncomfortably by the door, a book clutched in his thin hands. He really was slight, she noticed, especially without his huge sopping wet coat. He was an inch or so taller than her and probably weighed half what she did. His NYU hoodie was two sizes too big, hanging almost to his knees, a thrift store buy if she ever saw one.

DIALOGUE
"Is it physically possible for you to go more than five minutes without offending a member of the Spanish royal family?"
"Like I said before, the queen was giving me the look."
"What look?"
"You know. The 'come hither and kiss me you fool, you're making me hot beneath the petticoats' look."
"That's not a thing."
"You had to be there."

WHAT I'LL DO:

-Any genre of fiction (though I'm best at sci-fi/fantasy)