Welcome to Gaia! ::

Quit?

Yes 0.068181818181818 6.8% [ 3 ]
No 0.75 75.0% [ 33 ]
Gold 0.068181818181818 6.8% [ 3 ]
I don't care 0.11363636363636 11.4% [ 5 ]
Total Votes:[ 44 ]
1 2 3 >

I love to write and it is all I have wanted to do since I was five. In the past year however I have found myself more depressed when I write then happy and overjoyed like I used to get.

I am a terrible writer and have been thinking a lot of just quitting but I feel like it has always been a huge part of me and just giving up don't feel right. I write all the time and read tons. I don't know what to do anymore.

Edit update: 10/31/14

I have made up my mind. I am going to try this years NaNoWriMo. If after that I am unable to feel anything for my writing other than sadness I will quit for good. Thank you all for your time, sorry to have wasted it.

Nuclear Werewolf

What about it makes you depressed? The subject matter? Dissatisfaction in your level of skill? Disappointment with projects?
hmmm.
read a few books to find your suited writing style.

Toothsome Elder

It's OK to take a break and come back to it at a later time. Live your life --watch movies, discover new music, chill-- and you'll come back stronger and better.
Alberic of Krufton
What about it makes you depressed? The subject matter? Dissatisfaction in your level of skill? Disappointment with projects?

Ditto.

In a relationship with Catheryna

Sometimes I feel as though I can't write unless I am depressed.

Blessed Genius

10,475 Points
  • Team Edward 100
  • Megathread 100
  • Timid 100
I used to feel anxious whenever I'd write, 'cause I'd imagine certain... important individuals in my life insulting me on my writing abilities. Often times I'd just drop my pencil and stop writing, so I wouldnt have to think about them.