Do you organize?

I don't need no stinkin' organizin'! 0.081081081081081 8.1% [ 3 ]
Of Course! Color coded timelines are a must. 0.37837837837838 37.8% [ 14 ]
????? 0.24324324324324 24.3% [ 9 ]
Gold! 0.2972972972973 29.7% [ 11 ]
Total Votes:[ 37 ]
1 2 >

Fashionable Genius

I've found that my writing methods change a little with each new story. At first I was a very disorganized writer, writing whatever happened to catch my attention at the time and completely shunning any form of outlines. As I've written more I've found that outlines and organizing can actually be useful, and I'm always on the look out for new things to try.

Currently, I'll write down a general outline using a header in Word. As I write more scenes will be numbered with a subheading and placed within the outline. As the plot develops the outline will expand as I go. This method is flexible and great for navigating the story when I need to check or edit something. Navigation and self-referential links are a must for me, when I'm looking for some detail I wrote down x chapters back the more time I spend looking for it, the less time I spend writing.

Another thing I've found useful is having a story bible (especially for fantasy or any intensive world-building story), which is basically a glossary of terms and other facts that I've made up or researched for quick reference. And character cards that not only give me general character information but using Word's indexing feature to list all appearances of a character's name. Downside is the longer story files can get absolutely massive. sweatdrop

The realization that I've forgotten more great ideas then I've ever written down really bothers me, but I still struggle with keeping a writing journal; it just ends up looking like a jumbled, incomprehensible mess.

So, what organizing methods have you found to keep track of your ideas/plot/details?

Prophet