Welcome to Gaia! ::

6,050 Points
  • Mark Twain 100
  • Entrepreneur 150
  • Wall Street 200
I've very new to studying wiccan and pagan beliefs. I hope you can help me somehow.

1) What are the major differences between wiccans and pagans?
I understand that wiccans are pagan. But for the pagans that are not wiccan, what do they believe differently? Is It strongly different, or barely?

2) Can someone be wiccan and not celebrate the sabbats? Can someone be wiccan without practicing witchcraft or casing circles?

3) Random question: but name your religion please? I'm studying religions and I want to know about everything that's out there.

Zealot

Paganism is basically a catch all term for a variety of beliefs. Historically it's meant to refer to non-Abrahamic religions but nowadays it generally doesn't include major world religions too. It's primarily used for indigenous or folk religions (such as the spiritual beliefs of Native American tribes or Aboriginal Australians), it's also used for ancient and modern polytheistic religions (the famous ones being the Norse and Greek pantheons), as well as being a catch-all term for a variety of newer movements such as Wicca and Druidism. Paganism is more of a classification of religions than a religion itself.

Specific questions about Wicca aren't my bag, but there are quite a few people on this forum from time to time that have a good knowledge of the religion. I'm not really religious, but my views are influenced by Taoism and Buddhism, among many other things.

Seeker

I don't have name for my religion. I am a witch, but I am solitary. I worship a Goddess and a God. Stones, plants, animals and other things resonate energy that I feel. I have specific books and people that challenge my ideas on life and enlightenment.

As to your third part, never read or listen to something without challenging it in your own mind and heart. If you are searching for something that fits you, you'll know when you've been hooked.