Welcome to Gaia! ::

Duuurn's Wife

Backwoods Hiker

This is my first time in rehabilitation for opioid dependence, and if anyone else has successfully completed at least 1+ year of being clean I would just like to know what got you through that last month before the one year mark. It's coming up so fast for me, and I feel like I'm physically panicking. I've been on bupe/subutex, and have the implant, so there's no way I can actually get high from relapsing, but even the thought of the act itself makes intense craving shakes, cold sweats, jaw-clenching, & general dope-sick stuff happen. I KNOW I don't want to relapse, but all of the talk of, "it's very common that you will relapse at least ___ to ___ times before you're completely clean," and, "a lot of opioid addicts go back to drugs within two years of treatment," is getting to me, I think. I just want to be done with all of this in one go, but I think I'm being conditioned to think that is unreasonable. Is this even a normal reaction? Am I just going crazy because both my therapist and doctor keep bringing it up?

Any advice would really do me well. I'm asking for advice from other more specialized forums as well, before that comes up, I just don't think it would hurt to ask here, too. Happy holidays, and thanks in advance if anyone does answer.

Clean Gekko

3,300 Points
  • Timid 100
  • Signature Look 250
  • Bunny Spotter 50
lots of sleep
lots of cigarettes
lots of oats an milk but that did make me puke up a couple times so that aint the best idea

it definitely aint good people are bringin up failures but its pretty normal to be thinkin bout it a lot
the shakes might go on for like the whole year even but you can deal

but make sure you eat enough
have lotsa water an fluids
an jus rest is what I had
but I was livein in the rehab place at the time so its proably easier yknow
knowin I aint even gonna GET to relapse

but yea
helps to try an flush yourself out a bit yknow
or stay focused on somet