Welcome to Gaia! ::

I've tried everything. Once upon a time when I first started battling this eating disorder I was terrified, begging God to help me. I was afraid for my life. Then after being inpatient, and partial inpatient... 3 different times, intensive outpatient an uncountable number of times- I'm at the point I think I usually don't have a problem (thinking meh I've been worse) and I don't think it's a "big deal" that I'm underweight. It's become a way of life for me almost. I know I have an issue because of how defeated I feel when I have to eat.

So, after all this time, I decided if I can't get better for myself, I will for someone else I don't even know. I'm a nursing student and have seen people with cancer.... it's horrible- so want to sign up to be a bone marrow donor. I'd have to gain 10-15lbs at least. What they do is- take a DNA test swab from your mouth and keep your DNA on record, then call you when they find someone with a match, and you go in and they take a long needle and suck the bone marrow from your hip.

It could be 1 day or 2 years before they find someone with a match and call you in to donate. A lot of people die waiting.

Do you guys think this is a good reason on my part to motivate myself to become healthy? They say do it for yourself first, but I don't WANT to do it for myself, I won't do it for myself.

Timid Lunatic

I think this is a wonderful way for you to start to recover. But I think the only way you can fully recover in the long-term is if you learn to get better for your own sake, and not for the sake of someone else.

Rainbow Lover

Have you ever been to an Eating Disorders Anonymous meeting before? I've had friends with anorexia/bulimia get help there. They don't act out anymore. You can get in contact with other people in the same situation. You get what they call a "sponsor" who you talk to and they guide you through the program.
Just a suggestion.
My best wishes go out to you heart