Welcome to Gaia! ::

Do you think doctors are underpaid?

Yes 0.22448979591837 22.4% [ 11 ]
No 0.77551020408163 77.6% [ 38 ]
Total Votes:[ 49 ]
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >

A recent study by Medscape revealed that 49% of doctors believe they're not fairly compensated. Of primary care physicians, this percentage increases to 54%.

Physician salary ranges from $315,000 for orthopedic surgeons to a low of $156,000 for pediatricians.

Sounds pretty good right?

I used to think so until I decided to become a surgeon.

I will dedicate the rest of 20s and most of 30s to becoming a doctor.
Have 150-200k of debt.
In 2020 I will legally be a doctor, but wont get a doctor level salary until I finish my 6-8 year residency. During your residency you make about 10 bucks an hour but you work about 80 hours a week so it comes out to about 50k a year.

I will be operating on people making about the same I do now as a cashier.

If I'm a doctor in 2020 I will be 31.
I will be 37-39 at the end of my residency.
I pretty much wont be making money until my 40s.

Discuss the lifestyle of doctors.
Do you want to be a doctor?
How well do you think your compensated for your work?
Are you currently a student? Major?
How much school have your completed? How much do you have left?
What are your career goals?

User Image
On Death Spiral
Jesse Troy
User Image

ummm

Last night I made a topic about the lifestyle of a doctor and a couple minutes ago I made one about the presidential election. Both were moved to the chatter box in seconds.

Adored Admirer

After paying for nothing more than an X-ray to see if I had damaged my thoracic vertebrae, and that there was nothing wrong, um no, I don't think so. Such is the life of a doctor anyway. If you don't like the pay, don't go for the career. I sure as heck wouldn't do it because it looks complicating and wearisome.

Chatty Fatcat

8,200 Points
  • Popular Thread 100
  • Happy Birthday! 100
  • Elocutionist 200
Jesse Troy
On Death Spiral
Jesse Troy
User Image