Welcome to Gaia! ::

College:

Dink around 0.2 20.0% [ 10 ]
Sleep around 0.12 12.0% [ 6 ]
Set plan 0.48 48.0% [ 24 ]
I'm teh p0llwhorez option!1! 0.2 20.0% [ 10 ]
Total Votes:[ 50 ]
1 2 3 >

Some of my friends who just started college have been discussing their majors, since they have now begun their second semester. Some of them are happy with their choice, some are not. A few are changing their majors as I type this.

A bit of an argument broke out as to whether or not it is a good idea to dink around in college.

So what do you think LD?

Is college a place where you take a lot of different classes to find out what you want to do for the rest of your life, or should you go in with a set idea of what you're going to do (considering the rising tuition costs)?
Well, I'm a freshman too.. and from what we've been lectured on.. they say it's okay to switch around your majors. You have plenty of time to decide. It's just by the end of your sophomore year/beginning of your junior year, you should kind of know what you're doing.
Your poll's kinda biased since it only allows answers that support going to college.

Honestly. I'm not wasting my precious money and time on that total load of crap called college. Higher learning my butt.

I'm using my skills to get me through life, I'm gonna become a Manga-ka! mrgreen
I have a set plan, but everyone is different.
My cousin changed her major 5 times.
:]
b a b y d o l l
Well, I'm a freshman too.. and from what we've been lectured on.. they say it's okay to switch around your majors. You have plenty of time to decide. It's just by the end of your sophomore year/beginning of your junior year, you should kind of know what you're doing.

That's the way I feel, too.

I'm okay with playing catch-up now, but having to add on a couple extra years of classes...um, no.

@ Ghost of Sladgen: Since this topic focuses on ideas surrounding going to college, it's appropriate for the poll to support going to college.