Welcome to Gaia! ::

hmm the book was a whole lot bloodier. I never did finish it though. sad you should read the book though if you get a chance. The movie was good. The second one seemed like a different movie.
mellow_candle
spacedtwin
I apologize for wording that so funny, I meant to say that the MPAA had banned Battle Royale from american distribution, meaning that major distributors like Blockbuster and Best Buy's distributors cannot carry it. The reason for this is because Toei, the director refused to have his film edited for content so that the MPAA would allow distribution of Battle Royale. Believe me, I did my homework on this a long time ago as to why it was so hard to get a hold of this film.

It was my fault for not making myself very clear on the issue. I'm a professional researcher and I check my facts, but sometimes I'm horrible at saying what I mean. I apologize for that.

The wording wasn't funny. It's just you stated the MPAA had banned (whether it be domestic or theatrical doesn't matter) <i>Battle Royale</i> when in fact they have not. No one has banned the movie here in the U.S. It's just Toei is asking for too much (both money and edit (or lack of edit) wise) so the movie is sort of floating in space here for the time being.

If the movie was to ever get brought over, then it will probably have two different versions: a cut and an uncut version. Either way, places such has Blockbuster and Best Buy will carry it. Never underestimate the things you will find at Best Buy (or Fry's for that matter). I found a couple of DVDs from the <i>Guinea Pig</i> series at both Best Buy and Fry's. Movies from that series are far, far worse than <i>Battle Royale</i>.