Welcome to Gaia! ::

Tipsy Browser

5,550 Points
  • Entrepreneur 150
  • Conventioneer 300
  • Profitable 100
I'll be hitting the gym for the first time this weekend and I'm nervous as hell. So nervous that I changed my mind last minute 3 times before. I guess I feel like everyone will be watching me and notice how clueless I am.

Something needs to be done though, I've never in my life weighed over 116 until now (I'm only 4' 11'' and 21yrs old) and its just killing my self esteem. Checked the scale yesterday: 151lbs. and it keeps going up. This weight gain has been happening over the span of just a few months (despite no changes in my eating habits, I work in the medical field and I'm on my feet running around everyday so I feel like I'm pretty active), I plan to check with my doctor about it.

Anyway, before I go on and on, I need some tips and just a general idea of what it's like being at the gym. Are there people that will help with the equipment? Should I go straight for the treadmill? What should I even wear? (Yes a silly question but I'm so intimidated by such a simple place) How should I pace myself?

What are some of your routines and experiences?

Tipsy Millionaire

10,450 Points
  • Partygoer 500
  • Tycoon 200
  • Ultimate Player 200
iRave_Karma
I'll be hitting the gym for the first time this weekend and I'm nervous as hell. So nervous that I changed my mind last minute 3 times before. I guess I feel like everyone will be watching me and notice how clueless I am.

Something needs to be done though, I've never in my life weighed over 116 until now (I'm only 4' 11'' and 21yrs old) and its just killing my self esteem. Checked the scale yesterday: 151lbs. and it keeps going up. This weight gain has been happening over the span of just a few months (despite no changes in my eating habits, I work in the medical field and I'm on my feet running around everyday so I feel like I'm pretty active), I plan to check with my doctor about it.