Welcome to Gaia! ::

Liberal Capitalist

Hey there!
I'm a mixed martial artist and I do boxing and Muay Thai.

The other day some people in the gym were debating about cross fit.
Some people really didn't like it, while the others didn't seem anything wrong with it and how it can actually show results.

What are your thoughts? I've seen a lot of negative stuff about it. Can anyone clear the air for me about if it's a good thing or not? Doesn't Reebok have a crossfit line lol?

Newbie Noob

Axela the Time Lord
HWhat are your thoughts? I've seen a lot of negative stuff about it. Can anyone clear the air for me about if it's a good thing or not? Doesn't Reebok have a crossfit line lol?
I think cross fit has it's place, but it's only for a certain kind of person. The kind of person that likes some competition, but knows not to take it too far.
The principles of correct and safe training apply to CrossFit like they do to any other exercise program. They are-

1. Never compromise on form. It's easy to fall into bad movement patterns when you're tired. You need to be really clued up so you can see technique errors, or have someone who knows what they're doing spot you. Remember, just because your friend reads Men's Health, doesn't make him an expert. If you haven't been taught correct form before, hire a suitably qualified coach (i.e. one with the initials CSCS after their name).

2. Use correct programming. The order of your exercises in a workout, and the order of exercise progression over a long period of time, will have a huge impact on your gains.

3. To make decent progress, you need to stick with the same exercises for at least a little while so your body can learn the movements, get good at the movements, and then adapt to the stress those movements put on you.