Jake_Cardigan's avatar

Birthday: 01/01

Occupation: Physical Therapist


  • Add to Friends
  • Send Message
  • Trade Items

Equipped List

Wish List



Hi there. Thanks for visiting my profile page!

My name is Jake and I'm 32-years old. I'm 5'5, 150 lbs, and I have an athletic build. I'm originally from the ancient city of Oxford, England. These days I divide my time between the UK, US and continental Europe.

I'm a full-time physical therapist and martial arts instructor by trade. I'm also a certified personal trainer and sports conditioning coach. I love helping people overcome barriers to their athletic greatness, be that fixing injuries, losing weight, or getting stronger.

Martial arts are my first love. I started training in Taekwondo at age 4 and got my Black Belt at 10. I'm now a 6th Degree Black Belt, becoming one of the youngest people in the world to be awarded that rank.

I regularly train upwards of 6 hours every single day. Most of my training revolves around kicking people in the head. I can drop flat to the floor in all three splits (left, right, and center), and I can even do oversplits and hold either leg straight up in the air.

I also hold a 5th Degree Black Belt in Tang Soo Do; a 4th Degree Black Belt in Hapkido; a 2nd Degree Black Belt in Shotokan Karate; a 1st Degree Black Belt in Judo; and a 1st Degree Black Belt in Aikido.

I also do Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu and was recently awarded my blue belt by Roger Gracie after only a year of training.

I have competed at tournaments all my life. I hold over 100 national and 30 world champion titles in a variety of disciplines including full-contact sparring and forms (katas). I was due to compete in Taekwondo at the 2004 Olympics but decided to focus on my studies instead.

I graduated with honours from the University of Loughborough with a Bachelor's Degree in Exercise Physiology. Loughborough is the top higher education establishment for sports and fitness. It was from there that I also received two separate Master's Degrees: one in Physical Education and the other in Sports Therapy.

I'm a huge fan of working out, especially weight lifting (not bodybuilding). My most recent PB's (on 2nd Jan, 2015) were as follows:
Bench Press: 300 lbs
Squat: 425 lbs
Deadlift: 475 lbs
Overhead press: 210 lbs

Aside from martial arts and fitness, I'm a huge anime fan. I love the action genre from the late 80s and early to mid 90s: Akira, Patlabor, Guyver, Appleseed, Dominion Tank Police, Oedo 808, Crying Freeman, and Ninja Scroll. I enjoy more recent stuff too, like Bleach and Ergo Proxy.

I also enjoy gaming (Mass Effect trilogy), comic books (Batman!), and movies (anything by Christopher Nolan and Clint Eastwood). I'm definitely an animal person - I own six cats (Ichigo, Rukia, Chad, Tatsuki, Uryu, and Orihme) and even a horse (Smurf).

If there's anything else you want to know, just ask!


View Journal

Jake's Training Journal

My name is Jake and this is a diary of my daily training and activities in martial arts and fitness. Enjoy!




Full-time physical therapist and martial arts instructor.

25+ years training in martial arts.

15+ years coaching sports and fitness.

Black belts in six martial arts.

Multiple-time national and world martial arts champion.

Bachelor's degree in Exercise Physiology.

Master's degree in Physical Education.

Master's degree in Physical Therapy.

NSCA Certified Strength & Conditioning Specialist.


Recent Visitors


Posts per Day: 0.07

Total Posts: 143

Latest Posts

My Playlist

You currently have zero playlists!