Welcome to Gaia! ::

Distinct Raider

I don't have a smartphone. I don't really use my phone but to make phone calls or send text messages. I am a college student, so I constantly have access to wifi. (I am a Computer Science major so I always have my laptop with me). I haven't found a need to spend money on a data plan, when I can get access the internet already. That being said I do know a bunch of people who also don't have smartphones. Some of the reasons I have gotten from them are:
-"If I had one, then I would have to constantly looking up information for my family. Such as on road trips, if we are wondering something my sister with her smartphone will have to look it up"
-"I don't have time to worry about all the social components that come with having a smart phone, I have college to focus on"

Divine Whisperer

31,725 Points
  • Friendly 100
  • Invisibility 100
  • Peoplewatcher 100
I used a Samsung Alias 2 from 2008 to 2010, liked it quite a bit. Went to the Samsung Intensity 2, which turned out to be a bit worse actually. lower call quality, the sliding got loose over time... butt dialing was an issue, then in 2012 We got the Galaxy Nexus. Our bill (3 smartphones) shot up to 215$ or so in addition to the cost of one of the phones (because I didn't have my upgrade yet) and the cost of a microcell. I think the Nexus had a poor radio/antenna, but we just put up with it. I got into various versions of android and for awhile was on a ROM called JellyBelly. Eventually decided to go on to CyanogenMod...
Anyway when our Verizon contract was up this year, we were ready. We ditched them and had been buying our next phone, the Nexus 5, from Google for the past few months. Went with Tmobile and are enjoying a 110$/mo bill now.