Welcome to Gaia! ::

Invisible Member

10,625 Points
  • Risky Lifestyle 100
  • Invisibility 100
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
I'm really new to digital art.

I'm looking to get a tablet and try find a good program to buy and use.

My question is: What are the steps people use? Is there a tutorial for digital drawing? Also, do people draw on paper first, then scan it and draw digitally over it?
I'm very, very confused and I'd hopefully like to draw digitally like what I draw on paper. gonk

Generous Fatcat

9,700 Points
  • Signature Look 250
  • Forum Dabbler 200
  • Person of Interest 200
Everyone does their digital art differently. Since you're new to it, the first thing would be to get to know your program and tablet. The tutorials you'll want will depend on the program you choose. Drawing on the tablet alone will take time to master too.

Invisible Member

10,625 Points
  • Risky Lifestyle 100
  • Invisibility 100
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
XMegantronX
Everyone does their digital art differently. Since you're new to it, the first thing would be to get to know your program and tablet. The tutorials you'll want will depend on the program you choose. Drawing on the tablet alone will take time to master too.

Ah okay, as a newbie what type of tablet and program should I use?

Generous Fatcat

9,700 Points
  • Signature Look 250
  • Forum Dabbler 200
  • Person of Interest 200
xTechnoe
XMegantronX

well, tablet depends on your budget. they range from less than $100 to $2,000. wacom tablets are generally well made. i have an intuos 4 and it serves me fairly well. the only hiccup you may have with them is if you have an average laptop, it could lag up the tablet a lot. bamboos are also good for beginners. maybe take a look at wacom's site and see which one may work for you.