Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply The Original Magic the Gathering Guild
help?

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

thanks
  ok
View Results

black-demon-skull

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2006 12:51 pm


ok i've got three questions. what is first strike,trample, and what the hell is a spell?

i was tolled a spell is any card besides a land card.
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2006 1:30 pm


black-demon-skull
ok i've got three questions. what is first strike,trample, and what the hell is a spell?

i was tolled a spell is any card besides a land card.


First strike: a creature with first strike deals it's combat damage first. Thus, let's say you attack with a 3/1 first strike, and they block with a 2/2. Your first striker will live, as it'll do it's 3 damage before the 2/2 has any time to react.

Trample: remaining damage is transferred to defending player. Swing with a 4/4 trampler. They chump block with a 1/1. 4 damage is dealt, not only making the critter good and dead, but also carrying the extra 3 over.

And, yes, a spell is just what it is. Any non-land card.

AFK Masturbating


Gix3241

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2006 2:51 pm


And just for future reference double strike means a creature deals both first strike and normal damage. So the creature will have to be blocked by two creatures to prevent all the damage to a player, but first strike doesn't effect players so it will only deal one hit to them.
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2006 4:19 pm


fk3241
And just for future reference double strike means a creature deals both first strike and normal damage. So the creature will have to be blocked by two creatures to prevent all the damage to a player, but first strike doesn't effect players so it will only deal one hit to them.


i don't think you have doublestrike down quite right. you said "So the creature will have to be blocked by two creatures to prevent all the damage to a player...". this isn't true, not unless the doublestriker has trample. when a creature is blocked, all its damage is assigned to the blocker, unless the attacker has trample or another ability that says otherwise. for example, if a 2/2 doublestriker was blocked by a 1/1, it would deal first strike damage to the blocker, killing the blocker, then normal damage towards the nonexistant blocker. if you add trample in here, the doublestriker will bleed 1 damage through on the first instance of damage, and the other two damage will hit the player too.

Tricastelin


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2006 5:16 pm


gonk I've really gotta keep the rules questions thread towards the top so people can see it. For the future, there is a thread for this stuff man. Try there.

And to be clear.

First Strike is a static ability that modifies the way creatures deal damage in combat. There are two damage steps in the combat damage step, first, is of course, the first strike damage step where creatures with first strike deal their damage to the creatures blocking them. Then the regular damage step where every other creature without first strike deals damage. However say a 2/1 first strike is blocked/blocks a 1/2 normal creature. The 1/2 is killed first because of first strike and doesn't get to deal its 1 point to the 2/1 leaving the 2/1 first strike creature alive.

Next, Trample is again, a static ability that modifies the way creatures deal damage. During the damage assignment step of combat when you assign how much damage goes to blocking creatures you can have creatures with trample "Trample" over small creatures and damage the defending player. Example.
a 4/4 trample is blocked by a 2/2. You would normally have to assign all 4 damage to the 2/2 BUT since it has trample you are allowed to assign 2 to the creature and 2 to the defending player. You must assign just enough damage to kill the creature before any trample damage can be assigned to the defending player.

Anything in magic, except for activated abilities, triggered abilities, static abilities and lands, is a spell. It goes on something called "The Stack" can be countered, and 'resolves' to do what it does, Whether that be come into play (if its a creature, enchantment etc) or deal 2 damage to something (if its a sorcery or instant). Once a spell 'resolves' it goes to its designated zone, if the spell is a permenant (i.e. Creature, Enchantment, Artifact) it comes into play, if the spell is a "Spell" (i.e. Sorcery or Instant) it does what it says on the card then goes to the graveyard. 3nodding

Hope this clears everything up. If you have anymore questions please scroll down and find the rules questions thread or PM me.
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 3:04 pm



Gix3241

Reply
The Original Magic the Gathering Guild

 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum