|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 3:26 pm
alright, i just talked to joe, the fourth edition nid rules have not changed, and i owe you an apology, if you had told me that it is under the monstrous creature rules, i wouldve agreed with you. but no, the nid codex hasnt changed for about 3 years. it just isnt customarily seen as having guards with anything but the tyrant itself....
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 9:01 am
Well, yeah. The Hive Tyrant's the big brainbug in a 'Nid army (duh, lol); though I don't think Tyrant Guard is necessarily assigned to it. Sure, they defend the HT, but aren't Tyrant Guards a separate HQ choice from the HT? I don't have my 'Nid codex on hand, so I dunno for sure.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 10:57 am
Yes, they are a seperate HQ choice, but you can take a unit of them as a personal guard for the Tyrant that counts as the same HQ choice.
In other words, one choice is the Tyrant and personal guard, then your other choice could be a seperate unit of Tyrant Guard.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 1:42 pm
this is true. i still say that it is highly irregular to have tyrant guard with a carnifex. since when does a big nasty carnifex NEED tyrant guard???
the answer gentlemen, is never.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 2:12 pm
General VonCarstein this is true. i still say that it is highly irregular to have tyrant guard with a carnifex. since when does a big nasty carnifex NEED tyrant guard??? the answer gentlemen, is never. Except against gun-heavy enemies. Then you definitely want the TGs there to soak shots for your Carnie. Nothing sucks like seeing your bigass assault machine get mopped up because that one Tau Fire Warrior squad kept shooting over your Gaunt swarms' heads to tag it.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 2:14 pm
this could just be my opinion, but i use old one eye as my carnifex and ive never seen any need for TG. he has NEVER been killed! xd
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 8:27 pm
Well, yeah. But that's Old One Eye. Standard Carnies don't have that regenerating goodness.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 8:42 pm
Kamdas Well, yeah. But that's Old One Eye. Standard Carnies don't have that regenerating goodness. They probably wish they did. Carnifexes don't need no stinkin' bodyguards. They kick a** as is...provided they can avoid getting shot to hell first. biggrin
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 8:48 pm
Joshmaul Kamdas Well, yeah. But that's Old One Eye. Standard Carnies don't have that regenerating goodness. They probably wish they did. Carnifexes don't need no stinkin' bodyguards. They kick a** as is...provided they can avoid getting shot to hell first. biggrin Which, as I mentioned earlier, is the reason you would give a Carnie Guards in the first place. Now, against an enemy without that many guns, Guards become a complete waste of points...
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Nov 05, 2004 5:24 am
giving a carnifex a barbed strangler would be a b***h for whoever youre fighting...
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Nov 05, 2004 7:48 am
Unless they have good armor. scream F**KING SPACE MARINES!
But yeah, a STR 8 shot that spawns an Ordnance Template would make most armies rue the day they challenged the Great Devourer. Suck it down, Impguard.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Nov 05, 2004 12:07 pm
thats the point, a str 8 ord. blast would kill even space marines. its awesome if you give a strangler to a carnifex, but if you give it to anything else, it just kind of sucks...
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Nov 05, 2004 12:11 pm
know whats better, TWO barbed Stranglers to A single Carnifex(Monstrous creatures can now fire 2 weapons in one turn)
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Nov 05, 2004 1:27 pm
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Nov 05, 2004 2:39 pm
Yep, monstrous creatures can shoot twice in one turn.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
|