Welcome to Gaia! ::

The Official Warhammer 40,000 and Tabletop Gaming Guild

Back to Guilds

The Official Gaian Home of Tabletop Gaming 

Tags: Games Workshop, Tabletop, Warhammer, Gaming, Wargaming 

Reply 40k Discussion
40k Rule Questions & Clarifications Goto Page: [] [<] 1 2 3 ... 7 8 9 10 11 12 ... 21 22 23 24 [>] [>>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

bjs.09-00

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 6:24 pm


Thank you Cal and Necro, Our first few games were plagued by this issue.
EDIT: redundant speech pattern.
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 8:15 am


Since a barrage weapon ignores line of sight, do the things its shooting at still get a cover save if there is something between the weapon and the thing its shooting at?

Also, is the demolisher Cannon on the Vindicator a barrage weapon or not? Because on the Vindicator Page in the codex, it doesnt say it is, but in the summary, it lists all of my ordnance as barrage. It does the same thing in the CSM codex as well.

billsabob


Mat

Dangerous Soldier

8,500 Points
  • Brandisher 100
  • Treasure Hunter 100
  • Peoplewatcher 100
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 9:42 am


billsabob
Since a barrage weapon ignores line of sight, do the things its shooting at still get a cover save if there is something between the weapon and the thing its shooting at?

Also, is the demolisher Cannon on the Vindicator a barrage weapon or not? Because on the Vindicator Page in the codex, it doesnt say it is, but in the summary, it lists all of my ordnance as barrage. It does the same thing in the CSM codex as well.



No and No
1: they would only get cover if they were in cover. Because ignore LOS it would also ignore linear cover.
2: That barrage thing has gotta be a typo. Unless barrage is totally different in 5ed then it was in 4ed because barrage only concerned multiple shots when in a group like IG motar teams
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 2:03 pm


barrage now replaced guess as there is no more guessing. mortars are referred as to multiple barrages. and barrage demolisher in a summary is a typo since main unit entry doesn't have it - probably cut'n'paste from previous ordnance entries in the summary

Van Evok

Dangerous Hunter

8,550 Points
  • Forum Sophomore 300
  • Signature Look 250
  • Person of Interest 200

Caleidah

Eloquent Lunatic

PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 10:01 pm


Mat

2: That barrage thing has gotta be a typo. Unless barrage is totally different in 5ed then it was in 4ed because barrage only concerned multiple shots when in a group like IG motar teams

Or is a piece of single artillery that can shoot up/over, ignore cover, AND always hit on side armor!
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 11:38 pm


billsabob
Since a barrage weapon ignores line of sight, do the things its shooting at still get a cover save if there is something between the weapon and the thing its shooting at?

Also, is the demolisher Cannon on the Vindicator a barrage weapon or not? Because on the Vindicator Page in the codex, it doesnt say it is, but in the summary, it lists all of my ordnance as barrage. It does the same thing in the CSM codex as well.


Barrage Weapons check for cover from the center hole of the blast, so if there's a second wall behind the unit, or if the unit is standing in cover, they will get a cover save. However, they won't if they're standing behind a forest, rather than in it.

As for the Demolisher, I haven't really read through the new SM and CSM codexes. How is it noted that it is a barrage weapon? If the unit entry does not mention that the weapons are barrage but the summary does, I'll side with the idea that they do not have it. Summaries tend to be rife with errors.

Oryn


Hoxtalicious

Greedy Partner

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 4:12 am


It's a typo, it would seem that GW is becoming more like FW.
PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 5:48 am


GW's getting lazy nowdays... they copy-paste alot, they don't change rules from 4th to 5th edition so that rules are clear (talking about WAAAGH! and other stuff here), heck, they even did some copy-paste in the rulebook which wasn't intended!

And they never proof-read codexes before releasing them, I remember after peeking at the ork codex PDF for rule-testing which a friend of mine had -cough- and it didn't change a single word... AND THERE WAS SO MANY FLAWS IN IT! >_o

I don't know if there's problems with Marines or the comming Imperial Guard Codex though.

Shinobi_8745


Hoxtalicious

Greedy Partner

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 6:32 am


The Imperial Guard codex has loopholes and poor wording, not just errors. It also has a lot of questions that need to be FAQ'ed or PROPERLY clarified.

For example: if I take two Fleet Officers / Astropaths (one per command squad) are their effects stacked or can I only use one?

Which units can be issued orders? Is the Hellgun a lasgun now due to a new name?

How many weapons can a Russ with the Lumbering Behemoth rule actually fire on the move?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 8:05 am


I've seen officer trying to give orders to Inquisitors and Grey Knights already... it's like stormtrooper captain ordering Vader around!

Van Evok

Dangerous Hunter

8,550 Points
  • Forum Sophomore 300
  • Signature Look 250
  • Person of Interest 200

Hoxtalicious

Greedy Partner

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 9:49 am


So my officer can order Ogryn, Ratlings and storm troopers alongside the normal array of infantry? Denying the enemy cover saves when fired upon by Ratlings is a nice prospect.

Damn nice.
PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 1:30 pm


I need to get my hand on the guard dex and see this for myself... >_o

Shinobi_8745


Jason Kharo

5,500 Points
  • Risky Lifestyle 100
  • Forum Explorer 100
  • Signature Look 250
PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 12:14 pm


If a Chapter Master takes a bike, can the Honour Guard squad aswell?
PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 12:17 pm


Jason Da Psycho
If a Chapter Master takes a bike, can the Honour Guard squad aswell?


Unless listed as a choice in their profile, no.

And that might be more of a Marine question.

Caleidah

Eloquent Lunatic


Caleidah

Eloquent Lunatic

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 12:23 pm



Just as something that you guys might not have seen previously.

Page 75, main rulebook. If a Fearless character joins a non-Fearless unit, the character loses the Fearless USR until he leaves the group. However, if a non-Fearless character joins a Fearless unit, the character gains the use of the Fearless USR.
Reply
40k Discussion

Goto Page: [] [<] 1 2 3 ... 7 8 9 10 11 12 ... 21 22 23 24 [>] [>>] [»|]
 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum