Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply The Original Magic the Gathering Guild
The Rules Questions Thread [Zendikar Land Ho!] Goto Page: [] [<] 1 2 3 ... 7 8 9 10 11 12 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [>>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

rhadeof_valceca

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2006 8:58 pm


SWEET!!!!!
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 9:46 am


*pays one life*
What's the ruling on funeral charm? I'm interested because of the new Djinn Illuminatus:
User Image - Blocked by "Display Image" Settings. Click to show.
and mix it up with:
User Image
Does that equal instant mind twist?

Skunch
Crew


Gix3241

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 4:32 pm


i ran into this one today...
what happens if you give a sunburst creature affinity and make it free?
User Image - Blocked by "Display Image" Settings. Click to show.User Image - Blocked by "Display Image" Settings. Click to show.
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 4:35 pm


fk3241
i ran into this one today...
what happens if you give a sunburst creature affinity and make it free?
User Image - Blocked by "Display Image" Settings. Click to show.User Image - Blocked by "Display Image" Settings. Click to show.

i assume it would come in as a 0/0 and die but you never know...

Gix3241


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2006 9:05 am


Skunch
*pays one life*
What's the ruling on funeral charm? I'm interested because of the new Djinn Illuminatus:

Does that equal instant mind twist?

Yes. When you replicate the charm you get to choose what each one does as they hit the stack. So yes you could choose to have each copied charm make your opponent discard a card. So it would be an instant style persecute (not exactly mind twist since it isn't random xd )
PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2006 9:07 am


fk3241
i ran into this one today...
what happens if you give a sunburst creature affinity and make it free?
Yes if you play it for free it dies since you used no mana.
NOTE: It is NOT like the Emblazoned Golem + Mycosynth Golem because there is no X in the cost

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


DInfiltrator

PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2006 5:15 pm


This came up in a Ravnica draft. Does Faith's Fetters (stops activated abilities) stop Glare of Subdual? (Tap an untapped creature you control: Tap target artifact or creature) I think so because Glare's wording is (Cost: Effect) and looks like an activated ability. He said it was triggered.
PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2006 8:13 pm


A few questions regarding Doubling Season ...

Would Doubling Season affect the number of counters that say, arcbound critters come in with? Or how many they give another artifact critter when they die?

AFK Masturbating


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 10:14 am


DInfiltrator
This came up in a Ravnica draft. Does Faith's Fetters (stops activated abilities) stop Glare of Subdual? (Tap an untapped creature you control: Tap target artifact or creature) I think so because Glare's wording is (Cost: Effect) and looks like an activated ability. He said it was triggered.
Yes, glare's ability is an activated one and can be stopped by fetters and pithing needle and all that good stuff.
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 10:15 am


Angelic Celestia
A few questions regarding Doubling Season ...

Would Doubling Season affect the number of counters that say, arcbound critters come in with? Or how many they give another artifact critter when they die?
It would only effect the modular since coming into play isn't an effect and therefore won't double.

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


Skunch
Crew

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 3:26 pm


Lord Yawgmoth
Skunch
*pays one life*
What's the ruling on funeral charm? I'm interested because of the new Djinn Illuminatus:

Does that equal instant mind twist?

Yes. When you replicate the charm you get to choose what each one does as they hit the stack. So yes you could choose to have each copied charm make your opponent discard a card. So it would be an instant style persecute (not exactly mind twist since it isn't random xd )

Since we were on the topic of funeral charm, how des the instant discard work? if someone plays the only spell in thier hand and I respond with funeral charm, What happens? Does funeral charm become a counterspell for just B?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 4:10 pm


no, when you play a card, it goes onto the stack and out of your hand. when you play the charm, the spell is already being played. also, if you play charm on them when they have one card, if it's an instant, they can play it in response to avoid having to discard to it (though more than likely you'll just choose to do a different option on the charm)

.....i would LIKE to say all that with perfect confidence, but i can't. i'm just 90% sure that's right, but not completely...haha

Tricastelin


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2006 5:24 am


Tricastelin
no, when you play a card, it goes onto the stack and out of your hand. when you play the charm, the spell is already being played. also, if you play charm on them when they have one card, if it's an instant, they can play it in response to avoid having to discard to it (though more than likely you'll just choose to do a different option on the charm)

.....i would LIKE to say all that with perfect confidence, but i can't. i'm just 90% sure that's right, but not completely...haha
Not entirely wrong but not entirely right. To answer the question about instant discard if its your turn then you can make them pitch it because you have priority to play stuff first, if it's an instant they can respond of course but if its not pitch time. If it's their turn then no, they get priority to play whatever it is, only once it's on the stack then the other player gets priority to play stuff and by then they have no hand and playing it would be silly.
PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2006 9:33 pm


Hey what would happen if i had a quicksiver foutain and a
phantasmal terrain on one of my lands, would the phantalmal terrain override the quicksiler counter because its effect is continuously affecting my land or would it just become and island cuz the counter.

One more thing-nice new look!!!!

rhadeof_valceca


Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2006 11:32 pm


rhadeof_valceca
Hey what would happen if i had a quicksiver foutain and a
phantasmal terrain on one of my lands, would the phantalmal terrain override the quicksiler counter because its effect is continuously affecting my land or would it just become and island cuz the counter.

One more thing-nice new look!!!!
Thanks. And to answer your question its called Time stamp. The effect of whichever was played last will apply to the land. For example, if the pantasmal terrain makes the land a mountain, and came into play first, once it gets the flood counter its an island. BUT, if you play it on a land with a flood counter and call mountain, it's a mountain since the terrain will apply last due to time stamp.
Reply
The Original Magic the Gathering Guild

Goto Page: [] [<] 1 2 3 ... 7 8 9 10 11 12 ... 51 52 53 54 [>] [>>] [»|]
 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum