|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:19 pm
So yeah since I left the guild for a few reasons and have no decided to come back I also decided to dig this up since with Ravnica and Guildpact around the corner rules questions are sure to pop up. And Im now a level 1 DCI Judge so any questions you have feel free to ask i'll do my best 3nodding
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:23 pm
What is the best way to become a judge quickly? I think I know enough to become a judge. My friend is a level 2 judge and he says he thinks I might be ready. I was woundering if you oculd ask me some question to see if you think I am ready as well?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:27 pm
The best way is to just go to a lot of PTQ's major torunaments like Regionals and States, since its level 3 that gives other people the tests just talk to one. They're always looking for new judges.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 11:54 am
I was playing a game at the local card shop and this happend.... I attack with Kodama of the North Tree he blocks with Sakura-Tribe Elder and Sac.s it before damage goes on the stack. All damage is suppost to go threw but he argued against it..... We asked a Lv.1 DSI judge that co-owns the store and he says trample damage does not go therw.... But according to the following rule I think all damage will be dealt to defending player....
502.9c If all the creatures blocking an attacking creature with trample are removed from combat before the combat damage step, all its damage is assigned to the defending player.
Can you help clear things up...?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 12:20 pm
Weird, the judge at your store should've said what Im about to
If he didn't verbally say "Damage on the stack" and just blocked and sacked when the time comes to assign trample damage it would be like blocking North Tree with a 0/0 meaning Yes he should and will take all 6 trample damage. But as Im sure you know if we waits and lets you assign damage stacking it he takes 5 the elder takes 1 but isnt there.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 12:27 pm
Lord Yawgmoth Weird, the judge at your store should've said what Im about to If he didn't verbally say "Damage on the stack" and just blocked and sacked when the time comes to assign trample damage it would be like blocking North Tree with a 0/0 meaning Yes he should and will take all 6 trample damage. But as Im sure you know if we waits and lets you assign damage stacking it he takes 5 the elder takes 1 but isnt there. Ya thats what I thought.... Thank you...XD
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 9:36 pm
just ot let you all know... im trainging to become a judge... but i know im allredy gona become one. one of my friends is a lvl 4 judge and even he sees that i can cut it. ive been playing for 13 years so no card combo is too old.(i am currentley the houce judge at partys within my group of friends)(what a great guy he is. im glad he moved down to where i am)
so PM me some questions also if you got any... i can help.
or jsut pm me if you wanna talk shop alltogether.
if sometihng doesnt seem to go right with me il just ask what you thought of it is there lord yawgmoth. as they say... 2 head are better the 1.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2006 9:46 am
I have a weird question about Extraplanar Lens. If you use a card that permanently changes land types, does it remain that way when removed with the lens? And what about temporary effects, such as Dream Thrush?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2006 9:52 am
Sylamando I have a weird question about Extraplanar Lens. If you use a card that permanently changes land types, does it remain that way when removed with the lens? And what about temporary effects, such as Dream Thrush? As of 8th edition changing a land type only effects the type of mana produced. For example An island now reads Island Basic Land - Island T: Add U Changing it into a mountain would change it into the following Island Basic Land - Mountain T: Add R Changing the type doesnt change the name so back to the text of the lens "Whenever a land with the same name as the imprinted card is tapped for mana, its controller adds one mana to his or her mana pool of any type that land produced. " So if you change an island to a mountain and imprint it all islands will still add double blue, in the reverse case if you imprint a regular island and then one gets turned into a mountain it taps for double red because it still has the name Island just not the subtype
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2006 9:56 am
Thanks, we ended up a bit confused in a game last night.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2006 12:32 pm
I have a simple question thats just bothering me. In a game i played yesterday I had a Wall of Blood&Fling Deck and it came to the end of my opponents turn and i payed 11 life to pump-up my WoB and in response he putrefied it. Now heres my question, if i tried to Fling my WoB before his putrefiy went off would i deal 11 damage or would i deal 0 damage, and if i would deal 0 damage would i lose the 11 life, also if i let it die would lose the life. I also had one more question, in the combat phase if i blocked an opponents creature with mogg fanatic and then sacrificed it in response to it taking combat damage would it effectively deal 2 damage or one because u sac-ed it before it dealt combat damage same, same would go for bottle gnomes would it deal damage and give you 3 life or just the 3 life.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2006 4:02 pm
I just have a timing question... When exactly do you declare effects that prevent blocking? Before the declare blockers step, or during?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 2:22 am
rhadeof_valceca I have a simple question thats just bothering me. In a game i played yesterday I had a Wall of Blood&Fling Deck and it came to the end of my opponents turn and i payed 11 life to pump-up my WoB and in response he putrefied it. Now heres my question, if i tried to Fling my WoB before his putrefiy went off would i deal 11 damage or would i deal 0 damage, and if i would deal 0 damage would i lose the 11 life, also if i let it die would lose the life. I also had one more question, in the combat phase if i blocked an opponents creature with mogg fanatic and then sacrificed it in response to it taking combat damage would it effectively deal 2 damage or one because u sac-ed it before it dealt combat damage same, same would go for bottle gnomes would it deal damage and give you 3 life or just the 3 life. First Answer: yes you could just respond to the puterfy by flinging the wall of blood. It'll do 11 damage Second answer: If you block players then assign combat damage, after that damage hits the stack and both players are able to play instant type things. So yes, you could block with the fanatic, stack damage, and sac it and it would deal 1 to the creature it blocked and another 1 damage wherever you chose to target that other 1, same situation with the gnomes. you block, stack damage and then sac get your 3 life and it'll deal 1 to the creature it blocked.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sun Jan 08, 2006 2:24 am
Tricastelin I just have a timing question... When exactly do you declare effects that prevent blocking? Before the declare blockers step, or during? You declare blocking prevention during any phase other then the declare blockers phase since thats when all are assigned and the defending player has priority to pick and choose blockes. For example you could play an ability that says "target creature can't block" at the beginning of combat or the end pf the declare attacks step, however once it moves into the declare blockes its a little late.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2006 1:58 pm
Whee Guildpact previews have started on Magic.com x3
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
|