|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2005 2:10 am
metaljesse 1313.EXE Dark Lord Yawgmoth gonk ouch that's a kick in his nuts if there ever was one. -wha's that supposed to mean.? stare your face, that's what! Ok, me and some friends have been wondering, if I play a Biorhythm with no creatures on the field, who dies first? Me or my opponent? -thx. man. exclaim
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2005 6:58 pm
ok, i have two different questions: 1. If you have a familiar, or any creature or enchenment or artifact that makes a spell of a certain color cost less colorless mana, when you have a creature witha kicker, does it count seperately for the original and the kicker? And if so, does it only work when the kicker is also a the same color spell? Like the Kavu titan. If this worked and you had a thunderscape Familiar (also a kavu), it would make him not only go down to 4 mana for a 5/5 trample, but actually to 3. I'm not sure if they would consider the play spell and kicker the same spell, or an addition casting cost for a seperate spell stack right after the original or just added onto the same spell, so it's not an actual new spell. ok and here's the other one: 2. What happens here? 
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2005 1:41 am
1. Ok. If you have 4 Thunderscape Familiars in play this is how it would work out. Just for an example. You announce the spell. Place Kavu titan on the stack. Then pay any costs. Kicker (like Buyback) is tacked onto the total cost. Meaning it will be like this
1G + 2G = 3GG - 4 = -1GG
But since we obviously can't have negative numbers in magic (unless we're in silver boarded 'un' land) then the game sees the cost for Kavu Titan with kicker as 0GG meaning two green is all you have to pay for a 5/5 trample.
2. There's a question like this on the first page. But since this is a semi-different senerio I'll answer it. Familiar Ground reads "Creatures you control can't be blocked by more then one creature" and War Drums read "Creatures you control can't be blocked except by two or more creatures" putting both together means it's impossible for your opponent to satisfy both rules meaning. With those two cards in play. You've really made all your creatures read "This creature is unblockable"
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2005 5:15 am
1. That sucks, it would be cool if the cost was deducted twice sweatdrop domokun
2, that's what i thought, but i wasn't totally sure 3nodding
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 4:12 am
well it does make it only double green for a 5/5 trample. I heard that was pretty good o.o;
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 9:30 pm
A friend is making me ask this because he can't accept our word that he's wrong:
He has in play Nemesis Mask, Sosuke and some random snake warrior so, he attacks with the warrior while it's equipped and since every creature has to block it, he says that he can assign 0 damage to creatures, and it would trigger Sosuke's effect destroying all his opponents creatures.
We keep telling him no, because since he assigned 0 damage, it's like damage was never dealt, therefore Sosuke's effect doesn't trigger. Then he claims that since Unhinged went out, players can assign fractions in their damage, therefore he can assign (Warrior's Power)/(Number of blocker) to trigger the effect but, we tell him that's valid only in silver colored land (actually we don't want him to do that, doesn't he have enough already doing Tangle asp+Nemesis mask?)
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 5:41 am
You guys are right obviously. 0 damage is 0 damage. The ability on Sosuke reads that it must deal damage to a creature to destroy it. He can assign a few damage around and kill off a few creatures but not all of them unless his creature was massive.
For an example if you want him to shut up about it, The card Phage The Untouchable. Everyone should know that Phage says whenever it deals combat damage to a player they lose the game. If phage gets lets say -4/-0 somehow and she's a 0/4 but gets through the player getting damaged doesn't lose. 0 damage isn't damage. Simple. Hope this will shut your friend up. If not try the Saturday School Searchable Rules Database and type in Phage. I'm sure they have that example in there on some question.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 3:42 am
ok, so me and a friend have been havin' an argument about this for along time, like since Fifth Dawn was released. it goes like this, i have Grinding Station in play plus an odd assortment of artifact creatures. he tries to kill one with, lets say Dark Banishing, only to find out that when he played the spell, i activated Grinding Station's ability. now the creature is dead, regardless of who's right, but what i would like to know, so i can shut him up about this, which card killed the creature?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 8:44 pm
Lord Yawgmoth You guys are right obviously. 0 damage is 0 damage. The ability on Sosuke reads that it must deal damage to a creature to destroy it. He can assign a few damage around and kill off a few creatures but not all of them unless his creature was massive. K, thanks. But what about fractions? Can we tell him he can't unless we're playing silver bordered?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 5:46 am
Lord Yawgmoth well it does make it only double green for a 5/5 trample. I heard that was pretty good o.o; well i ment if you say, on had 1 tunderscape fam. out, it would be cool if it cut the cost down by 2 instead of 1. if i had four out, it wouldn't matter if the deduction doubled, it was already greateer than my need even if it didn't
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 10:18 am
japoniano Lord Yawgmoth You guys are right obviously. 0 damage is 0 damage. The ability on Sosuke reads that it must deal damage to a creature to destroy it. He can assign a few damage around and kill off a few creatures but not all of them unless his creature was massive. K, thanks. But what about fractions? Can we tell him he can't unless we're playing silver bordered? Fractions are exclusive ONLY to un-sets. Even though the rules don't exactly cover Un land Mark Rosewater made that pretty clear and it is in the comprehensive rules for a normal game that one cannot choose fractions.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 10:20 am
DestroX ok, so me and a friend have been havin' an argument about this for along time, like since Fifth Dawn was released. it goes like this, i have Grinding Station in play plus an odd assortment of artifact creatures. he tries to kill one with, lets say Dark Banishing, only to find out that when he played the spell, i activated Grinding Station's ability. now the creature is dead, regardless of who's right, but what i would like to know, so i can shut him up about this, which card killed the creature? Ok this is how that works. He plays Dark Banishing targetting your artifact creature. In response. You are allowed to sacrifice it to the Grinding Station. When Dark Banishing tries to resolve it's countered by the game rules for having an illegal target (in this case no target since the creature is gone) and it goes into his graveyard with no effect. The answer to your question is. the grinding station has long ground up the artifact creature when dark banishing resolves.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Sep 03, 2005 11:09 am
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Sep 03, 2005 11:15 am
if a creature that lowers a creatures cost (i.e. Krosan Drover) lowers the cost of a creature with converted mana cost of 6, and you have Kurgadon out, what happens when you play the creature? Does Kurgadon get the three +1/+1 counters or not?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sat Sep 03, 2005 11:22 am
Kurgadon will get the counters. It only looks at the converted mana cost of the spell. Which is written on the card. And even though it's cost is reduced while playing the spell the converted mana cost was still 6 or greater.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|