|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 12:54 pm
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:10 am
If a creature dies upon entering play due to some static effects like Ascendant Envincar or something, do CIP abilities still trigger?
Then, I also have a question that I can't really find precedent for since I'm playing with an alternate format: A creature has been given persist permanently, an Aquastrand Spider. When it dies, it'll come back into play alive as a 0/0 with a +1/+1 counter and is pretty much indestructible from that point on. If someone hits this Spider with 3 wither combat damage or puncture blast, would it kill the spider? I read somewhere that counters are assigned individually and separately and combat damage is assigned at once, so I'm a little confused here. Would there be 3 together wither damage, or 1 wither damage 1 wither damage 1 wither damage? In the second case would the spider live because it would die upon annihilation of the +/- counters? Or (if this is the case) are state-based effects not checked until after all the damage is assigned, and in which case it would have two -1/-1 counters and die (like the first case). Or does something entirely different happen?
Thanks in advance!
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 10:16 am
Yaakke If a creature dies upon entering play due to some static effects like Ascendant Envincar or something, do CIP abilities still trigger? Yes, the creature comes into play before state based effects are checked so the CIP abilities will trigger. Yaakke A creature has been given persist permanently, an Aquastrand Spider. When it dies, it'll come back into play alive as a 0/0 with a +1/+1 counter and is pretty much indestructible from that point on. If someone hits this Spider with 3 wither combat damage or puncture blast, would it kill the spider? I read somewhere that counters are assigned individually and separately and combat damage is assigned at once, so I'm a little confused here. Would there be 3 together wither damage, or 1 wither damage 1 wither damage 1 wither damage? In the second case would the spider live because it would die upon annihilation of the +/- counters? Or (if this is the case) are state-based effects not checked until after all the damage is assigned, and in which case it would have two -1/-1 counters and die (like the first case). Or does something entirely different happen? Anything that leaves the Spider with 1 or more -1/-1 Counters upon death will not allow it's persist to trigger. Combat damage is assigned once and counters are dealt with as a replacement effect. Anything dealing 3 points of wither damage will leave the Spider with 2 -1/-1 counters when state based effects are checked.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 10:16 am
No Hard Feelings. I just ran out of questions to ask.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 8:27 pm
Liquidor No Hard Feelings. I just ran out of questions to ask. roffle cakes
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 8:46 pm
Liquidor Yaakke If a creature dies upon entering play due to some static effects like Ascendant Envincar or something, do CIP abilities still trigger? Yes, the creature comes into play before state based effects are checked so the CIP abilities will trigger. Yaakke A creature has been given persist permanently, an Aquastrand Spider. When it dies, it'll come back into play alive as a 0/0 with a +1/+1 counter and is pretty much indestructible from that point on. If someone hits this Spider with 3 wither combat damage or puncture blast, would it kill the spider? I read somewhere that counters are assigned individually and separately and combat damage is assigned at once, so I'm a little confused here. Would there be 3 together wither damage, or 1 wither damage 1 wither damage 1 wither damage? In the second case would the spider live because it would die upon annihilation of the +/- counters? Or (if this is the case) are state-based effects not checked until after all the damage is assigned, and in which case it would have two -1/-1 counters and die (like the first case). Or does something entirely different happen? Anything that leaves the Spider with 1 or more -1/-1 Counters upon death will not allow it's persist to trigger. Combat damage is assigned once and counters are dealt with as a replacement effect. Anything dealing 3 points of wither damage will leave the Spider with 2 -1/-1 counters when state based effects are checked. I second both judgments. I would like to point out though in a case such as the card puncture bolt that if a creature like the one you have is dealt damage and has -1/-1 counters put on it at the same time, since the two effects happen at the same time as long as the number of -1 counters does not exceed the number of +1 counters the creature will still com back.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 9:50 pm
liz_bliz_inc Liquidor No Hard Feelings. I just ran out of questions to ask. roffle cakes One of the locals is bound to ask another rules question sometime soon.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2009 9:59 am
Here's an old one that keeps appearing. Quote: Question: If I attack with a 5/7 Green Creature with Trample and my opponent blocks with a 2/2 White Creature with Protection from Green, what happens?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2009 1:44 pm
Liquidor Here's an old one that keeps appearing. Quote: Question: If I attack with a 5/7 Green Creature with Trample and my opponent blocks with a 2/2 White Creature with Protection from Green, what happens? A creature with trample only is required to assign damage equal to the defending creature's toughness. It must only assign an amount of damage that would be enough kill the creature not taking into account any special abilities or circumstances. Thus the creature only needs to assign 2 damage in this case and may deal the other 3 damage as it wishes. Then the damage is prevented to teh creature with protection after it is assigned.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 2:20 pm
Question:
Reviellark goes to the graveyard and it's ability resolves targeting a Clone and a Body Double. Can the Clone become another "Reviellark" or does it have choose another creature?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Sun Feb 01, 2009 2:45 am
Liquidor Question: Reviellark goes to the graveyard and it's ability resolves targeting a Clone and a Body Double. Can the Clone become another "Reviellark" or does it have choose another creature? I am going to say that since they are both 'as they come into play" abilities they both trigger at the same time and must choose targets at the same time (and in fact, I'm not sure if they are even in play when it happens as it is a 'as it comes' as opposed to a 'when it comes' trigger) So here is my ruling: If they are both indeed 'in play' when their triggers, well, trigger the clone must target something in play and may target the body double. Then, have the body double's effect resolve first, making it a reviellark when the clone's ability checks on resolution as far as it's concerned. However, if it is as I think and they are not actually in play (but suspended in some limbo between the stack and in play) the clone must still choose a creature in play and since this can be neither the clone nor the body double it must pick something else.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 12:10 am
got 2 questions
can you activate "Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker's" 3rd ability if your opponent has less than 7 cards in hand or 7 permanents in play?
if the previous answer is no, then what happens if your opponent has the proper number of cards in hand or in play, you activate the 3rd ability, and they discard or sacrifice one or more of their cards?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 4:56 am
Zero Hiru got 2 questions can you activate "Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker's" 3rd ability if your opponent has less than 7 cards in hand or 7 permanents in play? if the previous answer is no, then what happens if your opponent has the proper number of cards in hand or in play, you activate the 3rd ability, and they discard or sacrifice one or more of their cards? the number of cards/creatures/permanents does not matter, they discard/sacrifice the set number of things. If they have less than that number they get rid of all of them.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:53 am
Zero Hiru got 2 questions can you activate "Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker's" 3rd ability if your opponent has less than 7 cards in hand or 7 permanents in play? if the previous answer is no, then what happens if your opponent has the proper number of cards in hand or in play, you activate the 3rd ability, and they discard or sacrifice one or more of their cards? -9: Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker deals 7 damage to target player. That player discards seven cards, then sacrifices seven permanents. All you need to have in order to activate the ability is a player to target. Doesn't matter if they have 7 or more life, 7 or more cards, or 7 or more permanents. You just need a target.
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Posted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:27 pm
I've got a question that's been plauging me for awhile since my experiance with the game is limited to mostly what I watch off the web, and I really haven't messed with morph creatures.
Morph creature is face down. I play timbermare tapping all creatures. Can I still flip the morph? and if so, does it remain tapped?
|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|