Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply The Original Magic the Gathering Guild
The Rules Questions Thread [Zendikar Land Ho!] Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 50 51 52 53 54 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

liz_bliz_inc

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:01 am


Liquidor
Question:

Sam has 3 Creatures in play including a Hissing Iguanar. Tom casts Wrath of God. Does Hissing Iguanar deal any damage?

yes, it will trigger twice

Because when creatures go the graveyard, they 'see themselves' going tot he graveyard, and because they are all going at the same time, it sees them as well and triggers. It's exactly like ninja of the pale curtain. If you wrath with that on the board, it removes all creatures from the game, or if you just kill it, it removes itself from the game.
PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 12:03 pm


liz_bliz_inc
Liquidor
Question:

Sam has 3 Creatures in play including a Hissing Iguanar. Tom casts Wrath of God. Does Hissing Iguanar deal any damage?

yes, it will trigger twice

Because when creatures go the graveyard, they 'see themselves' going tot he graveyard, and because they are all going at the same time, it sees them as well and triggers. It's exactly like ninja of the pale curtain. If you wrath with that on the board, it removes all creatures from the game, or if you just kill it, it removes itself from the game.

The situation came up last week at FNM. I had just won a round after an intense stalemate in which I was sacrificed a Sprouting Thrinax to a Skeletal Kathari with 2 Hissing Iguanars in play. He had brought me too low life in the early game for me to take advantage of my late game creatures. It occurred in the talk after the match.

Me : "Man that was some game."
Him : "Yeah, I couldn't figure a way through your defense without drawing some cards like Jund Charm."
Me : "Oh yeah, me too. I was holding mine in hand just in case to take advantage of the Hissing Iguanars. I did plan to play it but I only had 1 green source in play and better stuff kept coming up."
Him : "Wait, what?"
Me : "They see everything upon a death like that."
Him : "Doesn't seem right."

Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200

Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 12:03 pm


Question:

Sammy has a Simic Sky Swallower and a Morphling in play. Tyler casts Enduring Ideal. It resolves and Tyler gets a Persuasion. Which if any creature can Tyler place the aura on?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 6:10 pm


Liquidor
Question:

Sammy has a Simic Sky Swallower and a Morphling in play. Tyler casts Enduring Ideal. It resolves and Tyler gets a Persuasion. Which if any creature can Tyler place the aura on?


This is exactly like the effect for Zur the Enchanter or other enchantments that put themselves into play enchanting something like Scream From Within

The spell is never played and therefore never targets a permanent as it is played, it is simply is put into play on an appropriate permanent, no strings attached. Because shroud creatures only care about the initial targeting, the enchantment will not fall off later.

So you can put it on either creature

liz_bliz_inc


Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 8:30 am


liz_bliz_inc
Liquidor
Question:

Sammy has a Simic Sky Swallower and a Morphling in play. Tyler casts Enduring Ideal. It resolves and Tyler gets a Persuasion. Which if any creature can Tyler place the aura on?


This is exactly like the effect for Zur the Enchanter or other enchantments that put themselves into play enchanting something like Scream From Within

The spell is never played and therefore never targets a permanent as it is played, it is simply is put into play on an appropriate permanent, no strings attached. Because shroud creatures only care about the initial targeting, the enchantment will not fall off later.

So you can put it on either creature

Enduring Ideal was a fun deck to play in Standard. The deck had lots of answers.

I had this one game against a Form of the Dragon deck. He plays an Ivory Mask turn 4 and Form of the Dragon Turn 7. Since nothing else was in play, I stole the Ivory Mask with Confiscate and he killed himself.
PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 2:48 pm


Question:

George casts a Magma Jet targeting Harold's Mogg Fanatic. Harold uses the Mogg Fanatic's activated ability. Does George scry 3?

Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200

liz_bliz_inc

PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2008 2:16 am


Liquidor
Question:

George casts a Magma Jet targeting Harold's Mogg Fanatic. Harold uses the Mogg Fanatic's activated ability. Does George scry 3?


this turned out to be what i thought it was. The scry is an effect that happens on resolution just like the rest of the spell (and I assume, like all other parts of a spell's effects, resolves in the order it is placed on the card)

Quote:
Scry

The scry ability applies when a spell or ability resolves. The rules for scry (from the Comprehensive Rules) are as follows:

502.36. Scry

502.36a Scry is a static ability that functions while a spell or ability is resolving. "Scry X" means "Look at the top X cards of your library. Put any number of them on the bottom of your library in any order and the rest on top of your library in any order."


so the spell fizzles and no scry
PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 9:52 am


These Questions are stuff I keep being asked.

Question:

William has a Doubling Season in play. Then William resolves an Garruk Wildspeaker. Then William uses Garruks 1st Ability to untap two land. How many counters are on Garruk Wildspeaker?

Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200

liz_bliz_inc

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 5:06 pm


Liquidor
These Questions are stuff I keep being asked.

Question:

William has a Doubling Season in play. Then William resolves an Garruk Wildspeaker. Then William uses Garruks 1st Ability to untap two land. How many counters are on Garruk Wildspeaker?


No, although he will come into play with 6 counters if doubling season is in play before hand.

It's due to the wording of "if an effect would put a counter on". When you activate his first ability, the cost of the effect is what is putting the counters on, so no doubling there. However, it is a static effect within the rules of the planeswalkers that they get a certain number of counters put on them when they come into play (or as they come into play, I'm not sure, but either way it is still an effect) and that will be doubled.
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 9:14 am


liz_bliz_inc
Liquidor
These Questions are stuff I keep being asked.

Question:

William has a Doubling Season in play. Then William resolves an Garruk Wildspeaker. Then William uses Garruks 1st Ability to untap two land. How many counters are on Garruk Wildspeaker?


No, although he will come into play with 6 counters if doubling season is in play before hand.

It's due to the wording of "if an effect would put a counter on". When you activate his first ability, the cost of the effect is what is putting the counters on, so no doubling there. However, it is a static effect within the rules of the planeswalkers that they get a certain number of counters put on them when they come into play (or as they come into play, I'm not sure, but either way it is still an effect) and that will be doubled.

I'm surprised to get a No for a question that required a number.

Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200

liz_bliz_inc

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 1:42 pm


Liquidor
liz_bliz_inc
Liquidor
These Questions are stuff I keep being asked.

Question:

William has a Doubling Season in play. Then William resolves an Garruk Wildspeaker. Then William uses Garruks 1st Ability to untap two land. How many counters are on Garruk Wildspeaker?


No, although he will come into play with 6 counters if doubling season is in play before hand.

It's due to the wording of "if an effect would put a counter on". When you activate his first ability, the cost of the effect is what is putting the counters on, so no doubling there. However, it is a static effect within the rules of the planeswalkers that they get a certain number of counters put on them when they come into play (or as they come into play, I'm not sure, but either way it is still an effect) and that will be doubled.

I'm surprised to get a No for a question that required a number.

sorry, I meant 'no, the counters will not double'

Garruk would only get 1 counter
PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 4:50 pm


liz_bliz_inc
Liquidor
liz_bliz_inc
Liquidor
These Questions are stuff I keep being asked.

Question:

William has a Doubling Season in play. Then William resolves an Garruk Wildspeaker. Then William uses Garruks 1st Ability to untap two land. How many counters are on Garruk Wildspeaker?


No, although he will come into play with 6 counters if doubling season is in play before hand.

It's due to the wording of "if an effect would put a counter on". When you activate his first ability, the cost of the effect is what is putting the counters on, so no doubling there. However, it is a static effect within the rules of the planeswalkers that they get a certain number of counters put on them when they come into play (or as they come into play, I'm not sure, but either way it is still an effect) and that will be doubled.

I'm surprised to get a No for a question that required a number.

sorry, I meant 'no, the counters will not double'

Garruk would only get 1 counter

Its a common mistake to confuse Effect with Ability.

To activate a Planeswalkers Ability, you use a One-Time Effect of removing or adding a loyalty counter. When a Planeswalker comes into play, it also has a One-Time Effect of placing a predetermined amount of counters on it.

The correct answer is 10 Loyalty Counters.

Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200

liz_bliz_inc

PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2008 10:24 pm


Liquidor
liz_bliz_inc
Liquidor
liz_bliz_inc
Liquidor
These Questions are stuff I keep being asked.

Question:

William has a Doubling Season in play. Then William resolves an Garruk Wildspeaker. Then William uses Garruks 1st Ability to untap two land. How many counters are on Garruk Wildspeaker?


No, although he will come into play with 6 counters if doubling season is in play before hand.

It's due to the wording of "if an effect would put a counter on". When you activate his first ability, the cost of the effect is what is putting the counters on, so no doubling there. However, it is a static effect within the rules of the planeswalkers that they get a certain number of counters put on them when they come into play (or as they come into play, I'm not sure, but either way it is still an effect) and that will be doubled.

I'm surprised to get a No for a question that required a number.

sorry, I meant 'no, the counters will not double'

Garruk would only get 1 counter

Its a common mistake to confuse Effect with Ability.

To activate a Planeswalkers Ability, you use a One-Time Effect of removing or adding a loyalty counter. When a Planeswalker comes into play, it also has a One-Time Effect of placing a predetermined amount of counters on it.

The correct answer is 10 Loyalty Counters.

Wait...what? Even if it doubled both the counters when it came into play and the counter for the ability that's only (3 for coming into play) doubled to 6 and (1 for the ability) doubled to 2, which is 8. How did you get 10?

But I'm arguing that he would end up with 7 counters. Effects are caused by abilities and spells when they resolve as intended (abilities and spells 'effect' things and the game state, hence the interchangeability in wordings. Effect is simply a way of covering both bases of spell and ability in the same sweep without having to mention both).

To my knowledge and that of most others I count as having a deep knowledge of the game; Costs are not effects, they are costs. You pay something to make and ability/spell (effect) happen. Costs don't even use the stack because they don't have to resolve and why they can't be responded to.

So I'm saying that the come into play static ability rule about planeswalker's loyalty counters is doubled by Doubling Season as it is an ability. Giving him 6 loyalty to start. However, the adding or removing of counters from a planeswalker is a payment for the ability, not part of the ability. Thus, it is not doubled, giving 1 counter and leaving Garruk with 7 counters.
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 8:08 am


liz_bliz_inc
Liquidor
liz_bliz_inc
Liquidor
liz_bliz_inc
Liquidor
These Questions are stuff I keep being asked.

Question:

William has a Doubling Season in play. Then William resolves an Garruk Wildspeaker. Then William uses Garruks 1st Ability to untap two land. How many counters are on Garruk Wildspeaker?


No, although he will come into play with 6 counters if doubling season is in play before hand.

It's due to the wording of "if an effect would put a counter on". When you activate his first ability, the cost of the effect is what is putting the counters on, so no doubling there. However, it is a static effect within the rules of the planeswalkers that they get a certain number of counters put on them when they come into play (or as they come into play, I'm not sure, but either way it is still an effect) and that will be doubled.

I'm surprised to get a No for a question that required a number.

sorry, I meant 'no, the counters will not double'

Garruk would only get 1 counter

Its a common mistake to confuse Effect with Ability.

To activate a Planeswalkers Ability, you use a One-Time Effect of removing or adding a loyalty counter. When a Planeswalker comes into play, it also has a One-Time Effect of placing a predetermined amount of counters on it.

The correct answer is 10 Loyalty Counters.

Wait...what? Even if it doubled both the counters when it came into play and the counter for the ability that's only (3 for coming into play) doubled to 6 and (1 for the ability) doubled to 2, which is 8. How did you get 10?

But I'm arguing that he would end up with 7 counters. Effects are caused by abilities and spells when they resolve as intended (abilities and spells 'effect' things and the game state, hence the interchangeability in wordings. Effect is simply a way of covering both bases of spell and ability in the same sweep without having to mention both).

To my knowledge and that of most others I count as having a deep knowledge of the game; Costs are not effects, they are costs. You pay something to make and ability/spell (effect) happen. Costs don't even use the stack because they don't have to resolve and why they can't be responded to.

So I'm saying that the come into play static ability rule about planeswalker's loyalty counters is doubled by Doubling Season as it is an ability. Giving him 6 loyalty to start. However, the adding or removing of counters from a planeswalker is a payment for the ability, not part of the ability. Thus, it is not doubled, giving 1 counter and leaving Garruk with 7 counters.

Right, the answer is 8. Blah.

You're forgetting that Doubling Season is a Replacement Ability. One that can not be responded to.

Ability (straight from the comp rules)
"Ability" and "effect" are often confused with one another. An instruction in an object's text is an ability. The result of following such instruction is an effect.

Following the ability of a Planeswalker leads to the one-shot effect of putting a counter on said Planeswalker thus Doubling Seasons' replacement ability would occur.

Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200

liz_bliz_inc

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 8:53 pm


Liquidor
liz_bliz_inc
Liquidor
liz_bliz_inc
Liquidor

I'm surprised to get a No for a question that required a number.

sorry, I meant 'no, the counters will not double'

Garruk would only get 1 counter

Its a common mistake to confuse Effect with Ability.

To activate a Planeswalkers Ability, you use a One-Time Effect of removing or adding a loyalty counter. When a Planeswalker comes into play, it also has a One-Time Effect of placing a predetermined amount of counters on it.

The correct answer is 10 Loyalty Counters.

Wait...what? Even if it doubled both the counters when it came into play and the counter for the ability that's only (3 for coming into play) doubled to 6 and (1 for the ability) doubled to 2, which is 8. How did you get 10?

But I'm arguing that he would end up with 7 counters. Effects are caused by abilities and spells when they resolve as intended (abilities and spells 'effect' things and the game state, hence the interchangeability in wordings. Effect is simply a way of covering both bases of spell and ability in the same sweep without having to mention both).

To my knowledge and that of most others I count as having a deep knowledge of the game; Costs are not effects, they are costs. You pay something to make and ability/spell (effect) happen. Costs don't even use the stack because they don't have to resolve and why they can't be responded to.

So I'm saying that the come into play static ability rule about planeswalker's loyalty counters is doubled by Doubling Season as it is an ability. Giving him 6 loyalty to start. However, the adding or removing of counters from a planeswalker is a payment for the ability, not part of the ability. Thus, it is not doubled, giving 1 counter and leaving Garruk with 7 counters.

Right, the answer is 8. Blah.

You're forgetting that Doubling Season is a Replacement Ability. One that can not be responded to.

Ability (straight from the comp rules)
"Ability" and "effect" are often confused with one another. An instruction in an object's text is an ability. The result of following such instruction is an effect.

Following the ability of a Planeswalker leads to the one-shot effect of putting a counter on said Planeswalker thus Doubling Seasons' replacement ability would occur.

I think you're still missing exactly what I'm arguing here; I'm not arguing that abilities are effects. It's that effects are part of an ability or spell, the part that actually does something to the games state is the effect when it happens, I understand this. The cost is not part of the effect.'

Here:

This is the standard set up on activated abilities
Entire ability in brackets
{
Cost : Effect
}

Am I right?

Let's see it in a few examples

{ (Cost : Effect)
Sacrifice Sakura Tribe Elder : Search your library for a basic land and put it into plan tapped, shuffle your library.
}

{ (Cost : Effect)
Tap Llanowar Elves : Add one Green Mana yo your Mana Pool.
}

Or, a spell even (Boomerang in this case)
{ (Cost : Effect)
Use two blue mana from your mana pool : Return target creature to its owner's hand
}

Now simply replace those with the specific instance in question -
{
Put a loyalty counter on Garruk : Untap two lands
}

clearly, the adding the counter (or taking one off in other instances) is not part of the effect, it is the cost of making the effect happen. The same as with other creature abilities that require them to add a counter of some sort to do something. All things in magic work that way (Cost : Effect)
Reply
The Original Magic the Gathering Guild

Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 50 51 52 53 54 [>] [»|]
 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum