Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply The Original Magic the Gathering Guild
The Rules Questions Thread [Zendikar Land Ho!] Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 49 50 51 52 53 54 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Zero Hiru

Unforgiving Hunter

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 4:33 pm


not sure why i haven't asked this already.

if you have 2 timber protectors in play, will they make each other indestructible since they each say "other treefolk and forests you control are indestructible?"

similar question for Vigor. Vigor says "if damage would be dealt to a creature you control other than Vigor, prevent that damage." will 2 vigors protect each other from damage?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 12:00 pm


Zero Hiru
not sure why i haven't asked this already.

if you have 2 timber protectors in play, will they make each other indestructible since they each say "other treefolk and forests you control are indestructible?"

similar question for Vigor. Vigor says "if damage would be dealt to a creature you control other than Vigor, prevent that damage." will 2 vigors protect each other from damage?

yes and yes

liz_bliz_inc


liz_bliz_inc

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 1:32 am


YOU ASK MORE QUESTIONS NOW!

side note: I may or may not be changing my name back to "liz_bliz" (a common gamer tag of mine that I use many other places) soon, so if I do i no one be alarmed.

Also, yawg, if i do, I'll need you to change my name on the first page.
PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 9:09 pm


Can do if its changed. Despite my lack of being around the guild as much anymore I still stop by to check this thread often. (thus the title changes when new sets are about to come). 3nodding

Lord Yawgmoth
Crew

Shadowy Lunatic


liz_bliz_inc

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 10:25 pm


I'm feeling useless with the lack of questions in this thread of late....;p
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:52 pm


liz_bliz_inc
I'm feeling useless with the lack of questions in this thread of late....;p

If you want, I can post a question each day. I think of random rule situations all the time.

Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200

liz_bliz_inc

PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 8:42 pm


Liquidor
liz_bliz_inc
I'm feeling useless with the lack of questions in this thread of late....;p

If you want, I can post a question each day. I think of random rule situations all the time.
eh, either people here are getting smarter, or they just are asking questions less.
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 8:53 pm


Here's one situation I've been pondering for some time.

Sally has a Purity and a Garruk Wildspeaker in play. Can Rick deal damage to Garruk Wildspeaker with a Lightning Bolt?

Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200

liz_bliz_inc

PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 1:26 am


Liquidor
Here's one situation I've been pondering for some time.

Sally has a Purity and a Garruk Wildspeaker in play. Can Rick deal damage to Garruk Wildspeaker with a Lightning Bolt?


Hmm, I would have said the two triggers to replace the damage would go ont he stack and who's turn it was (and there for the active player, no-active player stacking rules) would determine what happened. IE: if it was youturn your replacement effect would go on first but purity's would resolve first and vice-versa.

however i looked up the official rules:
If a source you control would deal noncombat damage to an opponent, you may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker that opponent controls instead. This is a redirection effect: you choose whether to redirect the damage as the redirection effect is applied, and it's subject to the normal rules for ordering replacement effects. The player affected by the damage chooses the order in which to apply such effects, but the controller of the source of the damage chooses whether the damage is redirected. Note that this redirection can't be applied to combat damage.

Now I had thought that the only time a player got to choose the order of multiple replacements, or multiple anything effects, was when they all belong them them. It sounds like what they are saying here is that the turn doesn't matter, the defending player gets to say in what order the damage replacement happens.
PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 8:37 am


One thing to note:

Replacement Effects do not use the stack. They happen as soon as the instance that would occur happens.

For Instance:

Quote:
Dave casts Lightning Bolt on Steve. There is a Furnace of Rath in play.

If Steve counters the spell, the spell deals no damage.
If Steve casts a Healing Salve, the Lightning Bolt would deal 3 damage since it would deal 6 since only 3 damage is prevented.


I'll think of a new question soon.

Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200

liz_bliz_inc

PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 2:31 pm


Liquidor
One thing to note:

Replacement Effects do not use the stack. They happen as soon as the instance that would occur happens.

For Instance:

Quote:
Dave casts Lightning Bolt on Steve. There is a Furnace of Rath in play.

If Steve counters the spell, the spell deals no damage.
If Steve casts a Healing Salve, the Lightning Bolt would deal 3 damage since it would deal 6 since only 3 damage is prevented.


I'll think of a new question soon.

Hm, that's almost seems to go against some of the basics of magic, giving control of when effects happen to players other than the controller of the ability. Then again, wizards has made some stupid rules decisions before.
PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2008 8:04 am


liz_bliz_inc
Liquidor
One thing to note:

Replacement Effects do not use the stack. They happen as soon as the instance that would occur happens.

For Instance:

Quote:
Dave casts Lightning Bolt on Steve. There is a Furnace of Rath in play.

If Steve counters the spell, the spell deals no damage.
If Steve casts a Healing Salve, the Lightning Bolt would deal 3 damage since it would deal 6 since only 3 damage is prevented.


I'll think of a new question soon.

Hm, that's almost seems to go against some of the basics of magic, giving control of when effects happen to players other than the controller of the ability. Then again, wizards has made some stupid rules decisions before.

As I say to people who ask me about speeds in magic:

There are two Speeds. Things you can respond to and things you can't respond to. Everything else is just a Stop Sign.

Things that do not use the Stack include Using Mana Abilities, State Based Effects, Playing Land.

Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200

liz_bliz_inc

PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2008 8:52 am


Liquidor
liz_bliz_inc
Liquidor
One thing to note:

Replacement Effects do not use the stack. They happen as soon as the instance that would occur happens.

For Instance:

Quote:
Dave casts Lightning Bolt on Steve. There is a Furnace of Rath in play.

If Steve counters the spell, the spell deals no damage.
If Steve casts a Healing Salve, the Lightning Bolt would deal 3 damage since it would deal 6 since only 3 damage is prevented.


I'll think of a new question soon.

Hm, that's almost seems to go against some of the basics of magic, giving control of when effects happen to players other than the controller of the ability. Then again, wizards has made some stupid rules decisions before.

As I say to people who ask me about speeds in magic:

There are two Speeds. Things you can respond to and things you can't respond to. Everything else is just a Stop Sign.

Things that do not use the Stack include Using Mana Abilities, State Based Effects, Playing Land.

also paying the cost of a spell or ability, that does not use the stack. No one cane respond to "i sac this creature to use this ability. They can only respond to the ability itself.

I'm not sure on this, but I think 'whenever' can still be responded to, they just can be triggered at any point, even during the resolution of another spell. They're kind of like statics in the fact that they are always checking and always there, but will trigger at any point. That's why that enchantment that turned into a crocodile whenever you have no cards in your hand triggers off of a wheel of fortune.
PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 7:56 am


Whenever is usually used with triggered abilities which can be responded to.

Would is generally used with replacement abilities which can not be responded to.

Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200

Liquidor

Original Player

10,150 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 8:01 am


Question:

Sam has 3 Creatures in play including a Hissing Iguanar. Tom casts Wrath of God. Does Hissing Iguanar deal any damage?
Reply
The Original Magic the Gathering Guild

Goto Page: [] [<<] [<] 1 2 3 ... 49 50 51 52 53 54 [>] [»|]
 
Manage Your Items
Other Stuff
Get GCash
Offers
Get Items
More Items
Where Everyone Hangs Out
Other Community Areas
Virtual Spaces
Fun Stuff
Gaia's Games
Mini-Games
Play with GCash
Play with Platinum